Get ready for all those Thanksgiving questions with advice from Peer Career Advisors!

Leave a comment

November 16, 2012 by sabrinafreire

The holidays are coming up so soon! It’s time to spend with family, friends, and loved ones. There are always those questions that your relatives ask you that you dread. They want to know what is happening in your personal and professional life. Get ready to attack those questions with BBA Career Services.

Make sure you have your resume updated, interview skills perfected, and are seeking a great internship or full-time offer. Stop in the office before break starts to check-in on some last-minute career advice. Be prepared for those tough questions! Don’t forget to give thanks for your friends and family this year who have helped you get to where you are today.

Here’s what a few of my fellow BBA Career Services Peer Career Advisors had to say about their Thanksgiving questions!

Forest Huddleston:

What are some of the typical questions you get from your family during the holidays?
I am frequently asked about jobs that I have applied for and what my plans are for the summer. Since planning ahead is so important in society today, my immediate and extended family like to know how they can help prepare me for the future. The further along I get in my major classes, the more I am asked about specifics. For example, my uncle who works for a bank abroad loves to ask me about my projections of the future for the US economy.
How do you prepare for all the “What are you doing with your life?” questions at Thanksgiving?
I try to stay up to speed in my classes, which allows for less time of intentional preparation. I also research the companies I have applied to work at, which makes for good conversation with my family full of businessmen and women.
How can BBA Career Services help you prepare?
Knowing more about the recruitment process would allow anyone to talk more freely and knowledgeably about the status of his or her hire at a company. Also, knowing where/how to do company research would help give someone the right information regarding the companies he or she applied for. This would keep anyone from having feelings of annoyance when asked about their future, simply because of the extended knowledge.

Reggie Walker:

What are some of the typical questions you get from your family during the holidays?
1. How is school going?
2. Would you like to bless the food?
3. What are you most thankful for?
How do you prepare for all the “What are you doing with your life” questions at Thanksgiving?
I prepare for these habitual questions by stating my current academic goals then incorporating my future aspirations. I am sure to address how receiving a college education from UT will assist me in accomplishing my career goals and future success.
How can BBA Career Services help you prepare?
BBA Career Services can help prepare by continuing to enhance my work ethic through the company’s objectives and tasks. Consequently, I will be able to express the significance of BBA Career Services and its positive impact in my life now and in the future to my family.

Ashley Bott:

What are some of the typical questions you get from your family during the holidays?
1. Am I dating anyone?
2. Am I making A’s?
How do you prepare for all the “What are you doing with your life?” questions at Thanksgiving?
I tell them I have no idea, but I still have plenty of time to figure it out before graduation.
How can BBA Career Services help you prepare?
They can help me look into potential career paths that I might be interested in as well as helping me recruit for internships or full-time offers with company’s I am interested in or company’s that are in league with the kind of career I might want to pursue.

Author: Sabrina Freire, BBA Career Services Peer Career Advisor
Major: Finance, Sophomore (Grad December 2014)

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

