Student Spotlight – Justin Johnson’s Summer Internship at Google

Leave a comment

November 30, 2012 by texasbbacareerservices

justinjohnsongoogleWhere did you intern? 

Google Headquarters in Mountain View, CA

How did you go about getting your internship?

I didn’t necessarily find my internship, my internship found me. I was recommended by Professor Greta Fenley for the Google BOLD Immersion program as a freshman, so I decided to apply and ended up being one of 48 participants selected nationwide. From the experience that Summer in New York City, I promised myself that I would do whatever it took to return to Google as an Intern–That promise was fulfilled. Fast forwarding to today, this Summer will mark the third year I spend with Google and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I didn’t really have a “direct” path, it was all sort of trial and error. My key takeaway from my Google Journey would definitely be to take life as it comes and realize that sometimes it is okay to not worry and just let life happen.

What classes were the most valuable in getting your job or during your internship?

I definitely have to give credit to my outstanding BA 324 Professor (Ellen Morrison) for helping me develop my professional etiquette and skill set. She really pushed me to become a better student and professional.

What advice would you give others as they search for an internship?

Take advantage of all the resources around you and don’t let opportunities pass you by. My entire Google journey truly started with an email sent to me by my BA 101 Professor

*All McCombs School of Business undergraduate students are required to successfully complete an internship as part of the BBA degree requirements. Start your search and learn more on the BBA Career Services website.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

