Choosing your major-Do you have a better idea after this semester?

Leave a comment

December 4, 2012 by sabrinafreire

Choosing a major is an important one-but not a defining one. BBA Career Services provides students with a multitude of resources on each major so that students can make an informed decision. Career Advisors and Peer Career Advisors are available to answer your questions, and share their experiences with you. Check out how BBA Peer Career Advisors chose their majors!

Forrest Huddleston

What is your major?
Finance

Why did you choose this major?
I enjoy working with numbers, and stocks intrigue me. I enjoy a bit of risk in my career, and I also love working with people. Finance seems to be the perfect combination of these, which is why it’s the perfect major for me.

What advice do you have to give to students on choosing a major?
Pick a major that seems interesting to you right off the bat. Go with your gut on what you want to study, and do something you love. Working in a major that you enjoy studying will provide you much more happiness in the long run than having a major you don’t like but will bring you loads of money.

Connie Han

What is your major?
MPA/BHP

Why did you choose this major?
I picked BHP because of the reputation for the quality of the program. I transferred into the program after attending classes in McCombs so I had a pretty good idea of how the classes were structured in the program. I wanted to build a good business foundation in an environment where you learn from the ideas shared by your peers as much as you learn from your professors in a classroom setting.

I picked MPA because a lot of my relatives were accountants so I grew up with it. In addition, many of my upperclassmen friends were in MPA and they had a lot of good things to say about the program. I also really liked my introductory classes. I thought I would thoroughly enjoy a career in the profession.

What advice would you give to students on choosing a major?
Choosing a major is more of an art than a science. Introductory classes are a great way to gauge your interest, but keep in mind that it is just one class and the classes you take after that may be more or less interesting to you. Students should definitely talk to upperclassmen that to gain a realistic idea of the majors. Figure out what type of jobs each major prepare them for and try to talk to someone who have been on the career path for a while if possible. Make sure you can see yourself in his or her position years later. Also, do not be afraid to change your major if the major that you chose a year ago is not the right one for you. It is never too late.

Tracey Tran

What is your major?
Management Information Systems

Why did you choose your major?
I enjoyed and still do enjoy the subject material a lot and the professors are all very interesting individuals with a strong passion in what they do.

What advice would you give to students on choosing a major?
Try not to get sucked into the typical majors! Go with a major that really sparks your interests! I originally had no intention of declaring MIS but turned out it was the only subject that really intrigued me. And since its standard core curriculum to take intro classes in about each major field, talk to your professors! They can give really good insight into the major if you have interest in it!

Hanna Sea

What is your major?
Accounting/MPA

Why did you choose your major?
I thought it fits my personality to scrutinize on details, and it also aligned with my goal to help and consult others. As cliché as it sounds, I thought learning a new language (accounting is the language of business they say…) would be beneficial wherever my career paths lead me to. I also loved all my accounting professors and their honest tips about career choices!

What advice would you give to students on choosing a major?
Don’t be discouraged by the difficulty of the many accounting courses; if you think about it, McCombs Accounting hasn’t placed lower than first place for a very long time, which means we have outstanding accounting faculty along with challenging courses. Overall, I think internship experiences will best serve you in evaluating your choice of major – spend your summers wisely!

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

