BBA Career Services Career Shadowing Program-A Student’s Rackspace Experience!

Leave a comment

December 14, 2012 by texasbbacareerservices

rackspaceTouring RackSpace’s headquarters with the BBA Career Services Career Shadowing Program has changed the way I approach recruiting and networking in my professional career. Before this experience, it was something I occasionally did as a checklist. After interacting with RackSpace’s management and associates, they have allowed me to see how genuine and enjoyable it can be.

At the beginning of my junior year, I felt very limited in the different IT options my MIS major offered me and was ready to learn in-depth about different companies. After seeing the Career Shadowing Program flier at Career Services, I realized that visiting a company would be the next step.

At RackSpace, I learned valuable interviewing insights from recruiters themselves. I met top company members who kindly shared with us some of their favorite moments working there as well as examples of their daily interactions with customers.

Specifically, I was able to shadow an associate who showed me his daily routine and the different technology he uses. In addition, we toured their facility and were welcomed very warmly.

What really stuck out to me was seeing their company culture truly lived out. Everyone was relaxed, focused and friendly with us. They had a smile on their face and interacted with each other as family. I had read about the culture at their website, but seeing it firsthand allowed me to imagine myself working there.

I am grateful for the opportunity RackSpace and the BBA Career Shadowing Program gave me. I would recommend this program to everyone at McCombs.

Gabriela Peralta
Major: MIS, Grad Year: 2014

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

