December Grad Spotlight-A Full-Time Job is a Great Way to Kick off the New Year!

Leave a comment

December 21, 2012 by texasbbacareerservices

Katie RiefenstahlKatie Riefenstahl, Engineering Route to
Business (Marketing/Mechanical Engineering)

Where will you be working?
Phillips 66

How did you go about getting your full-time offer?
I had an internship for Phillips 66 this past summer and was fortunate enough to receive a full-time offer after I completed my final project.

What skills do you think were the most important for you to get your job?
I think my willingness to learn from others and my dedication to hard work were extremely important in receiving a full-time offer.

What was the interview process like?
Instead of a formal interview, I gave a presentation at the end of my internship.  I had to recap what I had worked on throughout the summer and what I had learned from my experience.  When I finally did present, I spoke in front of several important members of the Phillips 66 Procurement Department.

What classes do you think will be the most valuable to doing your job?
I think the most important classes I took were BA 324 and OM 337.5.  I learned a lot about presentation skills and case studies which will be applicable in my new job.

What advice do you have for people that are on their career search?
My advice for people on a career search would be to find things about your college experience that make you unique. It is important to be able to explain to potential
employers what makes you distinguishable from others and why you would be the right person for the job you’re applying for.

Report your offer!

Both declined and accepted, at https://bba-mccombs-texas.12twenty.com/. Your login will be your Texas McCombs email address (@bba##.mccombs.utexas.edu).

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

