Get ready for the summer, lock down your next Internship! Student Internship Spotlight

Leave a comment

January 4, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

SONY DSC

Eugene Hsiao
Major: Marketing
Grad date: Spring 2013

Where have you interned:
Foxconn Technology Group; Houston, Texas and Sandston, Virginia (Summer 07 – Summer 2011), Arthur J. Gallagher & Co.; San Jose, California (Summer 2011), Aon Corporation; The Woodlands, Texas (Summer 2012 – Present)

How did you go about getting your internships?
My first internship I found by leveraging my own personal network. As I continued to intern, I also continued to grow my network. The following internships, I got found through my connections. My last internship I got through OCR.

What classes were the most valuable in getting your job or during your internships?
BA101 and BA 324 were very beneficial to me in helping me get my internships as well as helping me be successful during my internships. Both classes equipped me with the communication skills and professional skills that helped me leave a lasting impression at the various places I interned.

What advice would you give others as they search for an internship? 
An internship is a great way to figure out what you want to do after graduation. If you want to explore the world of consulting or investment banking, but you are uncertain if that is what you want to do for a living, this is the time to figure it out. Internships also offer insight into company cultures, which is another big factor one should consider when looking for full-time jobs. Another piece of advice is this: do not fear recruiters. Recruiters are normal people, just like us. They just want to have a conversation with you to get to know you. If you keep that in your mind, you will be less nervous during interviews.

What skills do you think were most important for you to have in your internships?
I believe the most important skills that contributed to my successes during my internships were learning quickly, thinking on my feet, and asking good questions. At the internships I held, the pace was fast and I did not have time to play catch up.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

