Student Spotlight-Intern Experience (Career Interests: Science, Healthcare, Research)

Leave a comment

February 21, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

audrey (2)Audrey Rutherford
Major: Marketing and Pre-Medicine
Grad date:
Spring 2014

Where are you interning?
PSC Biotech

How did you go about getting your internship? What steps did you take?
I constantly do research on the McCombs Job Board and Access UT to find internships that match my career goals. I found an internship position at PSC Biotech for a “Good Laboratory Practice” Intern and applied since I am very interested in science, healthcare, and research. When I went in for the interview, the group interviewing me asked me questions on both my science and business background. They determined that I would be valuable to their company due to my dual education, and decided to create an entirely new internship position for me to complement my both my science and business skills–“Marketing and Business Development” Intern.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?

Any/all of my pre-medical courses and labs; BA 324; MAN 337

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
Don’t just apply because you need an internship. Take the time to seek out something that’s in your field of interest/career goals–it will work out! Be brave and do something out of the ordinary.

Can you describe how your interview went?
It was a very different interview experience than what I was used to. I have probably interviewed with at least 10 different “business” based companies, so I was accustomed to that style of interview. PSC’s interviewers were all scientists, so they were trying to access my hands-on experience in research and examples of what I could do. It was much more task based rather than relational. I felt like they were genuinely trying to figure out how I would fit into the company; their questions were intentional rather than stereotypical/challenging interview questions which I often have come across in interviews.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
“How do you feel about healthcare experimentation on humans?”

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

