Student Spotlight-Intern Experience at ExxonMobil

1

April 16, 2013 by sabrinafreire

Michelle Moon
Major: Business Honors, Finance, & Government
Grad date:
Spring 2014

michelle moon final

Where are you interning?
ExxonMobil.

How did you go about getting your internship? What steps did you take?
In the summer after my freshman and sophomore year, I interned as a financial
analyst at Coastal Energy Company in Houston. In the fall of my junior year, I
visited ExxonMobil’s table at the McCombs Career Expo and enjoyed chatting with
the recruiting team. I then applied on OCR and, fortunately, was offered a first
and second-round interview. I looked forward to chatting with the Exxon
employees every time I went in for an interview and the entire Exxon recruiting
process was legitimately enjoyable! I accepted almost immediately when I
received my internship offer.


What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?

Surprisingly, I found Architecture and Society to be the most valuable class I
have taken in getting my internship. Architecture and Society truly changed the
way I look at buildings and art in general, but more importantly, Professor
Speck impressed upon me the importance of pursuing jobs that you find
interesting. I explained this to several interviewers and they were consistently
impressed with this interest and perspective.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
My advice to students would be to explore every industry in which you have the
slightest interest! Going into my junior year, I was considering several career
paths. Even though my decision was very clear in the end, looking back I am so
glad I applied for and interviewed with a variety of companies in different
industries. I am happy to say I have no regrets and had the opportunity to meet
so many interesting people. You learn a ton about the business world and
yourself through the questions you ask and answer.

Can you describe how your interview went?
My first-round interview was more conversational than most interviews. My
interviewer was a woman who has worked at Exxon for many years and was able to
give me an incredible perspective of what it is like to be a female employee at
the company. She explained that she has always felt empowered at Exxon and that
the company is very family-friendly. My second-round interviews were more
intimidating because I was expected to do most of the talking and my
interviewers were executives at the company rather than the recruiting team with
which I had become familiar. They emphasized that Exxon has offices around the
world which offers many opportunities for international travel.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
The most difficult question I encountered was in my second-round interview when Exxon’s Controller for Africa asked, “Say you are a project manager in Africa with a team that does not have good chemistry and consistently produces late or inadequate work. What do you do and what do you tell your manager?”

One thought on “Student Spotlight-Intern Experience at ExxonMobil

  1. Donald says:

    Thanks for sharing your interview experience at ExxonMobil. The company is considered to be one of the leading energy companies in the world. I’m sure that other job aspirants will also find it useful to read your experience and benefit from it.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

