Student Spotlight-Intern Experience at PWC

Leave a comment

April 18, 2013 by sabrinafreire

Ezequiel Calderon Jr
Major: Marketing
Grad date:
Spring 2014

Eze

Where are you interning?
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP in San Jose, California.

How did you go about getting your internship? What steps did you take?
I met a recruiter from PwC at a networking dinner hosted by a few business
organizations the spring semester of my freshman year. I thought she was a great
person, so I kept in contact with her for the next few months via email, asking
various questions about the company and issues affecting them. As soon I was a
sophomore, I was interviewed for an internship that would take place the
following summer.


What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?

MIS 301 and a music class were extremely valuable. MIS taught me about the value in emerging technologies and helped me talk about my interest in working in Silicon Valley. The music class was an alternate interest that showed I had passion for knowledge, not just business.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
Networking is a powerful tool. Don’t just get someone’s name, but learn about what they do and who they are as a person. If you genuinely enjoy someone’s company, that’s typically a good sign.

Can you describe how your interview went?
My interview process consisted of two 30-minute interviews. They were behavioral
and really dug deep into my character. My interviewers were a senior manager and partner at PwC, and they were extremely pleasant. I felt comfortable throughout my interviews because every contact that I made during my office visit were enjoyable.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
“Why did you choose your major?” and “Why do you want to work at PwC?” These were tough questions because I had just declared a major and started to seriously think about my future post-graduation. One thing I learned to do was to be honest and genuine with my past experiences that proved I was eager to learn more from them.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

