Student Spotlight-Intern Experience at Dell, Inc.

Leave a comment

April 25, 2013 by sabrinafreire

Margaux Vatel
Major: Supply Chain Management
Grad date:
December 2012

untitled

Where are you interning?
Dell, Inc.

How did you go about getting your internship? What steps did you take?
I interned AMD my sophomore summer and got a contact to Dell through my director. I then got an internship my junior summer at Dell and worked in the Americas Operations Department. Throughout that summer, I networked within the organization and expressed my full-time interest to both my managers and directors. After my internship, I kept in touch with my director and received a full time offer.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?
I took OM368- Logistics and inventory management with Douglas Morrice. This class was my first exposure to forecasting and planning, which is what my department does.

What skills do you think were the most important for you to get your job?
My GPA was very low therefore I had to network with a lot of people. I believe that networking really helped me gain this full time offer.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
Network. Network. Network. Although I had a horrible GPA I was still able to get internships every summer through networking.

Can you describe how your interview went?
I interviewed for 2 different Dell internship positions, and the interviews were
very laid back and very informational. My current director asked about life at
UT, my study abroad experience and explained what his department does.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

