Alumni Spotlight: Altria Group Distribution Company

Leave a comment

September 13, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

altriablogKaitlyn Overby, UT McCombs BBA Alum 2013 Major: Marketing
Altria Group Distribution Company, Summer Sales Intern & Territory Sales Manager

What was your experience at UT Austin like?
I grew up in a small Texas town and by my senior year of high-school I was extremely excited to move to the city of Austin! I love the culture in Austin and the many diverse, delicious restaurants. As a student, I was active in my sorority and enjoyed playing intra-mural sports – basketball, volleyball, and a weak attempt at flag football. I’m passionate about Longhorn football (who isn’t?!) and am tremendously pleased with the education that I was offered at the McCombs School of Business.

What drew you to a career opportunity with Altria?
I originally found out about Altria through two fellow colleagues that had both gone through the internship their junior year and received full time offers after their successful summer. At first I was skeptical about interviewing with a company that I knew very little about, however, once I had the chance to meet with many Altria employees and heard in detail about the amazing opportunity that Altria offers, I was sold! Altria’s internship slogan is “Can’t Beat the Experience” and I believe this statement is 100% true. The internship is a competitive, challenging, and fun experience that truly models the full time experience. Altria employees are with you every step of the way mentoring you and inspiring you to think outside the box and be a more effective sales manager.

What was your most rewarding experience as an intern?
Altria offers an 11-12 week internship the summer after your junior year. Throughout my 11 weeks, I had the opportunity to manage 30 retail accounts, totaling roughly 7 million dollars’ worth of business! One of the projects that all interns are given is called a “game plan.” Using quantitative and qualitative analysis, I came up with a strategic plan to impact and grow my business. At the end of the internship I was shown how much impact I had on the business and it was extremely rewarding to have that opportunity as a student.

What do you like about working for Altria?
I love that I don’t have to sit in a cubicle all day! Every day is a new day with a new challenge. Also, if you ask any employee what it is they like most about the company, they’ll most likely answer: the people. As an intern and a full-time employee I get to work with different people (at many different levels) from the company that are motivated to help me reach my career goals and grow as a person.

Who do I see succeed at Altria?
One of the things that drew me to Altria was that the company primarily hires from within. There is a large number of UT Alumni (many graduating from McCombs) that have had successful careers. All of my immediate bosses thus far have graduated from the University of Texas and our very own CEO, Craig Johnson, is a UT alumni as well!

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

