Finance Alumni Spotlight: Walmart – Multi-Channel Finance

Leave a comment

September 23, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

BorawalmartblogHello fellow Longhorns,

I remember the beginning of my senior year back in 2009 as if it was yesterday, sitting in your shoes. I was excited and nervous at the same time about finding a job in the near future. The task seemed overwhelming at times, so I turned to the BBA career services at McCombs, where I learned about the Accounting and Finance Development Program at Walmart. What appealed to me the most about this program was the fact that it was a two-year rotational program, where every six months you have the opportunity to rotate in a different area of Finance or Accounting. What didn’t appeal to me as much at first glance was that Walmart didn’t have the “wow” factor. The headquarters’ looked more like a school than an office building, and I would be moving to Bentonville AR, away from family and friends and from Austin, the city that had been home for the last four years. After some serious thought, talking to mentors and professors, I decided to take a leap of faith and accept the offer. Today, I can truly say that it is the best decision I have made in my life so far.

Being inside the company, I can see the “wow” factor in Walmart and what makes Walmart so unique. The Accounting/Finance Development program was a valuable experience because it exposed me to four different areas of Finance that were of interest to me but ultimately, I decided to continue my journey with Walmart because of the career opportunities available after the program, the amazing people I work with, and the unique and passionate culture.

Career opportunities here at Walmart are endless. After graduating from the program I have been promoted twice and worked in two different finance areas. We are growing quickly as we are in the midst of retail merging with ecommerce. The work is fast paced, challenging and most importantly meaningful. In my current role as a manager of Multi-Channel Finance, we think about the most efficient way to deliver goods to our customer and save them money. We are building the next generation of Walmart, and it is fulfilling to know that I am making a difference in the lives of millions of customers that Walmart serves each week.

From day one, I was surrounded by great managers, mentors and peers that helped me with my career path. I remember sitting in Charles Holley’s office, our CFO, for a touch base meeting and he offered to help me with anything I needed to succeed in my career. To me, that meant a lot and showed me that leadership truly cares about the development of its associates. Examples like mine are common here at Walmart. In addition to leadership support, we have mentors, mentoring circles and informal/formal training classes available to help you grow and develop.

Walmart has created a culture that is inclusive and humble. Associates are given opportunities regardless of their title. I had never thought I would fly on a private jet, at least not until I became an executive, but working at Walmart, gave me the opportunity to do just that.  Private jets are not reserved just for the executives; I don’t know any other company that does that. In addition, one of my favorite perks for working here and what most people don’t know, is that we get private performances by celebrities. In my three years here, I have seen Black Eyed Peas, Alicia Keyes, Will Smith and Eva Longoria just to name a few. You never know walking down the halls what celebrity you might run into.

As you begin your job search, you will run across companies that initially might not have the “wow factor”. Remember to do your research well so that you won’t pass by an amazing opportunity, and look for a company that has a great mission and purpose, so you can be proud to be a part of.

Hook’em Horns!
Bora
Finance Alum, 2010

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

