Marketing Internship Spotlight: Technical Marketing Intern with Caterpillar, Inc. Global Petroleum

Leave a comment

September 26, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

catblogheadshotAlayna Boyd
Major: Marketing (Minor in MIS)
Graduation Year: May 2014
Internship: Technical Marketing Intern with Caterpillar, Inc. Global Petroleum

What was your role as an intern?
My role as an intern was to work on 3 different 12-week long projects ranging from online media creation to creating guidelines that would support sales efforts worldwide. I had ownership of these projects so the responsibility level was high and I had to be organized in planning and execution as well as comfortable taking charge of my colleagues who assisted me along the way.

Tell us about your intern experience. CATblog
My internship experience was more rewarding than I could’ve hoped for. I worked with incredibly bright (and fun!) people. I learned a ton about Caterpillar, the petroleum industry, and how to be successful in a corporate setting. All 3 of projects were meaningful and challenged me. Probably the coolest part of the experience was getting to travel. I went to headquarters in Peoria, IL twice, Lafayette, IN once to see the engine factory, and almost 10 different local excursions to see customers and learn more about the industry.

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer.
I loved getting to know a new city (Houston, TX) and Caterpillar certainly helped. I got tons of recommendations from coworkers on where I should eat and where I should explore. I felt like a tourist, only better because I had 12 weeks and the inside scoop. I also got close with the other intern and we did lots of things together. It was a great experience!

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?
I would say both BA 101 and BA 324 were especially helpful since they promote strong interview skills.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
Apply to all positions that interest you, regardless if you think you are qualified. I had no petroleum background and thought about not applying for Caterpillar but I’m so glad I did!

Can you describe how your interview went?
There were two 30 minute behavioral interviews conducted at the same time at the Ford Career Center. The questions were what you would expect of a behavioral interview – nothing crazy! I focused on really highlighting my skills through past experiences and being myself.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
I was asked about my petroleum background, which was none at the time. Just emphasize why you think petroleum is a great industry to be apart of and that you are a quick and passionate learner. There are so many resources to get you up to speed at Caterpillar once you get there, so don’t worry!

Learn more about this internship and apply via OCR by September 30!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

