American Airlines Employee Spotlight: Revenue Management

Leave a comment

October 3, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

DavidAmericanairlinesblogDavid Jeffery
Majors: Finance and Political Science

About my time in Revenue Management:

I started at American Airlines in the summer of 2012. Shortly after training, I realized that I was working in one of the most dynamic and challenging industries. In my first role at American Airlines, I was responsible for pricing a few of our Central America routes. In this role I quickly learned that pricing an airline is an extremely difficult task. This challenge instilled in me a curiosity to learn and improve on the skills that I was developing.

After three months of pricing, my manager asked me to oversee our strategy in Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Bolivia and Paraguay. In this role I worked closely with our pricing team in order to create products customers want to buy, customer segmentation, and a strategy for how we were going to allocate our seats. It was amazing to see hour our decisions impacted our regions annual revenue of around $900M.

Shortly after starting my strategy role, I was asked to help create Latin’s revenue plan for 2013. One of the major challenges was quantifying the impact political uncertainty and currency exchange rates had on our revenue. This project allowed me to have exposure with other managers and senior level employees in the company.

Why Revenue Management:

Learn more about the FT-Analyst - Revenue Management position and apply in OCR!

Learn more about the FT-Analyst – Revenue Management position and apply in OCR! Deadline: October 11

When I was applying for jobs as an undergrad, I wanted to work in a role where I impacted the company’s direction. I wanted to work on the frontlines of a company. Revenue Management is the frontlines of the aviation industry. Our department is always looking for ways to create and improve revenue.

The joy of working for AA:

One of the best parts of working at American Airlines is having the entire network at your fingertips. I love to travel and the flight benefits at AA are incredible. This past summer I was able to fly to Italy in first class and experience amazing Italian cuisine, Italian beaches, and Roman culture. The amount of stamps my passport has collected over the past 12 months is incredible and I am looking forward to filling the remaining pages.Want to

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

