Internship Spotlight: Sponsors for Educational Opportunity & Marsh & McLennan Companies

Leave a comment

October 14, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

RachelSEOblogRachel Pennington-Hill
Major: Corporate finance; Minor: Accounting
Grad Date: May 2014

What was your role as an intern?

As an intern, I worked under a Marsh Client Executive. My manager had a book of about ten energy companies as clients that she provided products and services. I had the opportunity to work with her on this client facing work. Essentially, I worked on each account daily and the nature of my work depended on what a client needed at the moment. I can say that because my worked changed frequently I was constantly learning and always felt as though I could contribute.

Tell us about your internship experience.

While at Marsh I particularly enjoyed the weekly speaker series that interns had the opportunity to attend. Each week, a higher up employee within Marsh scheduled and hour out of their day to speak to the interns about their experience at Marsh and allowed the interns to ask questions as well. In particular the CEO for Marsh USA, who also happens to be a champion for intern program, spoke to the intern class. This experience really demonstrates the collaborative and welcoming environment that Marsh has.

How did you go about getting your internship?

I participated in BBA Career Services Corporate Mock Interviews before the Spring 2013 McCombs Undergraduate Career Expo. My interviewer was apart of the talent and acquisition team for Marsh. He encouraged me to apply for the internship position with Marsh, and after some research I thought it was an opportunity I would like to pursue.

What is Sponsors For Educational Opportunity (SEO)?

Learn more about SEO at their Alumni Panel & Information Session this Thursday, October 17 from 5:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. in BBA Career Services (CBA 2.116)

Learn more about SEO at their Alumni Panel & Information Session this Thursday, October 17 from 5:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. in BBA Career Services (CBA 2.116).

SEO is an organization that promotes the educational and professional development of young people from differing communities around the country. The career program specifically provides students with summer internships with its various partner companies.

Tell us about your experiences with SEO.

Applying to SEO was one of the best decisions that I have made thus far in my college career. I had the opportunity to complete technical and intrapersonal training that better prepared me for my internship and future career. I can say that the program is demanding, but this is because the SEO staff invests time in each student so that they can reach their full potential. After completing pre-summer online training, I had the opportunity to travel to New York City for two weeks of in-person training from professional across the financial industry.

What advice do you have for students regarding being an intern or their search for an internship?

I think that when students are searching for an internship it is equally important to evaluate the role and your fit. I believe that the better you fit with the company the more productive you will be in your role. It is important to remember that you will spend a significant amount of time at work; therefore it should be a place that feel comfortable and want to be.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

