International Business Internship Spotlight: The Global Commercialization Group (GCG)

Leave a comment

October 28, 2013 by Lainey

Screen Shot 2013-09-17 at 7.42.12 PMAmil Malik
Major: Business Honors and Plan II
Graduation Year: May 2016

What was your role as an intern?
I worked as an International Business Development Assistant where I performed market validation and business development research for 6 innovations coming out of commercialization programs in South Korea and India.

Tell us about your intern experience.
It was a great experience! I had the opportunity to work on meaningful projects to help both managers at GCG and innovators in other countries. Some of the innovations I did business development research for included an antibiotic adjuvant, a rotary engine, a dashboard camera, and a remote entry capability for motorcycles. The managers at GCG supported me throughout, challenging me with substantial responsibility.

How did you go about getting your internship?
I kept my resume polished and updated, continued to network, and didn’t give up searching.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?
Almost all my BHP classes helped me as they focus on hands-on learning, making it easier to develop critical thinking skills. BA324H helped me during the internship, as it taught me to present information in an organized and concise manner.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
Be open and willing to try new things. Most of all, don’t give up looking for new opportunities.

Can you describe how your interview went?
I interviewed with two different Business Development Managers and the Assistant Director of GCG. Going in, I had no idea what to expect. Most of the questions ended up being analytical and situation based. For example, I got asked how I would approach particular projects or how I would orient my research.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

