Marketing Internship Spotlight at the Startup: UMeTime

Leave a comment

November 1, 2013 by Lainey

amybarkerAmy Barker
Major: Marketing, Minor: Advertising
Graduation Year: May 2014

What was your role as an intern?
I am a creative marketing intern. Since it is a startup, I am able to help out in different areas of the business. My main focus is in the development of social media campaigns, weekly blog writing, and on-campus marketing strategies. I have also had the opportunity to take part in market research, sales team meetings, PR releases, and more.

Tell us about your intern experience.
I was hired as an intern before the mobile app officially launched so I have been able to see how my efforts have benefited the company directly. My favorite projects have been the different social media campaigns and blog posts that give me the most freedom to be creative. A big advantage to interning with a startup is working with a smaller team. I have had the chance to work with each team member (including both founders). Each member has given me valuable advice and knowledge about the business world and how to succeed, while always encouraging me to ask questions and learn as much as possible. 

How did you go about getting your internship?
I searched OCR for a couple of weeks and listed different internship opportunities that interested me. After researching each company and position I narrowed down my options and sent in a tailored resume and cover email with my fingers crossed.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?Both BA 101 and BA 324 were beneficial in making sure my resume stood out from other applicants. Some of my marketing electives also gave great recruitment tips and mock interviews to prepare me for this one.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
Choose an internship where you can learn and grow. The more effort and dedication that you put into the projects or tasks that you are assigned to, the more experience and opportunity that you will get out of it. I have not only gained confidence in the skill set that I entered with, but I have improved on what I lacked, added new skills, and discovered career choices that interest me.

Can you describe how your interview went?
The interview was laid back and relaxed. The intern director began by asking basic questions concerning my previous experience. The more difficult questions related to how I could benefit the company and if I was a good fit with the current company culture. It was more of a conversation where we talked about the company and how I can influence its future over a strict back-and-forth interview.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
My interview was nearly a year ago, but I remember the following questions being hard because I really wanted to showcase how my previous experiences would make me stand out from other candidates and be something unique for the company to invest in.

Questions:

  • How can my past experiences benefit the company?
  • What can I bring to the table?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

