Finance Internship Spotlight: The Boeing Company

1

November 21, 2013 by Lainey

gauav1Gaurav Nayak
Major: Business Honors and Finance
Graduation Year: 2015

What was your role as an intern?
I worked in the Contracts and Pricing Division of Boeing Military Aircraft.
Basically, I handled government correspondence and conducted some financial
analysis for some of the division’s international sales to Saudi Arabia and
Japan.

Tell us about your intern experience.
Interning at Boeing exposed me to a number of wonderful opportunities. I was able to go on a behind the scenes tour of many of the facilities that they built and developed their planes in. On the job, I was able to use what I had learned at McCombs to develop a financial model to predict some of the costs that we would incur over the course of the project. The team I worked with was really cool; there was much more responsibility than I expected to have. Even though I was an intern, I do feel that I was able to contribute value to the company.

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer.
At first, arranging to move to Seattle was tough. Finding a place to live for
just 3 months in a distant city you have never been to can be tough (as well as
expensive). Once I had that figured out, things became a lot more fun. Seattle
is a great city in the summer, the weather is MUCH cooler than Texas. Since it
is wedged between the water and the mountains, there are also many things to do
outdoors on the weekends. Over the summer I also drove to Vancouver, Portland,
San Francisco, Las Vegas, Salt Lake City, the Grand Canyon, Yosemite,
Yellowstone, and a whole host of other amazing places.

How did you go about getting your internship?
I got my internship by attending the Fall Career Fair; after talking to the
Boeing representatives there I was invited to interview later that week.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?
BA 101 was great in helping me understand the mechanics of the application
process. Knowing how to write a resume, prepare cover letters, and effectively
interview was critical in getting the internship. Once I started working, the
skills I learned in my introductory MIS and Financial Modeling classes were also
valuable.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
My advice is to never restrict your options. While you may have certain career
goals, you should be open to the possibility to working in areas you may not
have expected to. I never expected to work for a defense contractor before last
year, but it certainly was a great opportunity that helped me grow as an
individual.

Can you describe how your interview went?
The first round of the interview was in Austin. It was a situational interview;
the interviewer asked me questions about certain types of challenges I had faced
int he past and how I dealt with them.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
The hardest question was when I was asked to describe a time I had committed a
critical mistake and how I went about fixing it.

One thought on “Finance Internship Spotlight: The Boeing Company

  1. Kshama Dayananda says:

    We are proud of you Gourav.
    Kshama Aunty.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

