Internship Spotlight: Coca-Cola Refreshments

Leave a comment

November 26, 2013 by Lainey

professionalpicSamantha Schafer
Major: Finance, Track: Real-Estate
Graduation Year: May 2015

What was your role as an intern?
My role was to shadow various levels of management from account managers to sales managers on the district, area, and market unit level. During this time I was asked to find opportunities for improvements in the business processes. At the conclusion of the internship, I presented my opinions to the San Antonio office as well as the Houston, Dallas, Memphis, and Lubbock offices.

Tell us about your intern experience.
During my internship, the San Antonio Spurs were in the NBA Finals. Coca-Cola is the exclusive provider of beverages for the Spurs and the AT&T Center. If the Spurs won the Finals, there would be various events surrounding the team’s arrival (parade, barge party for the players and cheerleaders, etc.) all of which Coca-Cola’s beverages were needed. I was able to sit in on all the planning meetings with Coca-Cola account executives at the AT&T Center and observe how Coca-Cola works with one of their biggest clients in the San Antonio area. Although the Spurs didn’t win the Finals, it was exciting to be part of the planning of the events.

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer.
Living in San Antonio was quite different from my home in Dallas. The entire atmosphere is different than what I am used to, but I enjoyed being able to expand my horizons. I feel much more independent now that I have spent a summer on my own in a place where I know no one. Now that I have accomplished that, I am not afraid to take a internship/job in another city or state.

How did you go about getting your internship?
I found the Coca-Cola internship on McCombs OCR and did a resume drop. 

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?
The things I learned in BA 324 were extremely valuable in obtaining by internship as well as preparing me for my duties as an intern.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
Try to find an internship that actually interests you, and don’t just base you decision on the company name. This could be the job you have after college, so make sure it’s something you wouldn’t mind doing for a few years.

Can you describe how your interview went?
I went through two rounds of interviews. My first interview I was asked to give a sales pitch to a high school principal. The interviewers left the room and allowed me 10 minutes to prepare my pitch. I had a sheet of instructions to refer to as well as some information that would help me in personalizing the pitch. They came back in and acted as the faculty and principal. I felt like I did the best pitch I knew how to do, since I had never done a sales pitch before. I was asked to the second interview that was held at the Austin office. This interview felt much more personal, and the interviewers got to know me very well since they asked me about my family, etc. I definitely did better in the second interview because I knew what to expect. 

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
1. Give a sales pitch to a high school about why they should have Coca-Cola as their exclusive beverage provider.
2. Talk about a time when you worked hard for something and it didn’t work out, how did you handle it and what changes would you make looking back?
3. What makes you think you are a better candidate than the other applicants?

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

