Student Spotlight-Intern Experience at PWC

Leave a comment

December 9, 2013 by sabrinafreire

Nina Lacson
Major: Accounting
Grad date:
May 2014

NinaLacson.jpeg

Where are you interning?
PwC, Dallas.

How did you go about getting your internship? What steps did you take?
Before dropping my resume on OCR, I attended the company info sessions offered by BBA Career Services. In those info sessions, I had the chance to be introduced to the company, ask questions, and network with all level employers including partners, who I normally would not have the opportunity to meet.

As the semester progressed, I attended the events McCombs offered such as the etiquette dinners and MIS info sessions. Basically, every time I meet someone from PwC– regardless of their position or their work location, I introduced myself and made the effort know them at a more personal level and follow-up afterwards.

Before my interviews, I did a thorough reflection of my self, achievements and failures and made sure I asked the interviewer questions I really care to know about. The other part of my preparation was mentally preparing.

After my interviews, I always do a self assessment of how I did and what I could have done better. I do a follow-up thank you both email and handwritten to my interviewer.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?
MAN 336 and BA 324.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?
The best way to prepare is doing an honest reflection of yourself–both your strengths and your failures.

Can you describe how your interview went?
My first round interview was harder for me since I did not know what to expect. Also, the interview was 45 minutes long and my interviewer did not ask very many questions that I prepared for. He simply said, “Walk me through your resume.”

Second round interviews involved an office visit and three 30 minute interviews with a manager, director, and partner. Interviews were more personal and conversational. I don’t believe they asked me any of the interview questions since we had covered most of them during the “meet and greet” dinner the night before.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?
Among the hardest interview questions I was asked was, “Why did you transfer from SMU when you had a competitive GPA and already in the business school?” and “Tell me about a time you had to negotiate.”

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

