Alumni Experience: PepsiCo Marketing Internship

Leave a comment

December 19, 2013 by texasbbacareerservices

PepsicoblogSabeena Ladha Headshot (2)Sabeena Ladha, UT McCombs BBA Alum 2012
Majors: Business Honors, Supply Chain Management
Minor: Spanish
Current Company: PepsiCo
Current Position: Marketing Analyst
Open Position: Marketing Intern (apply via OCR, deadline: January 5, 2014)

Choosing the Major

Choosing my major in the business school was one of the most challenging decisions I had to make in undergrad. I loved the psychology and creativity of Marketing but I was drawn to the operations strategy aspect of Supply Chain Management. After completing an internship in production operations where I craved more consumer facing projects, I decided to apply to Marketing internships after my 3rd year to better understand where exactly I fit in business.

My Internship Experience

Learn more about the I-PepsiCo – Frito Lay Marketing intern - BBA position and apply in OCR. Deadline: January 5, 2014 at 11:59 p.m.!

Learn more about the I-PepsiCo – Frito Lay Marketing intern – BBA position and apply in OCR. Deadline: January 5, 2014 at 11:59 p.m.!

My marketing internship at Frito-Lay blew me away. Each intern was given one project based on a strategic business need – real problems needing real solutions. My project included designing a 360 degree strategy for the Tostitos small-bag business, involving a unique consumption opportunity that originated in Mexico. Yes, I had the pleasure of traveling to Mexico during my internship to witness just how they consume Tostitos first hand! I could write pages (and I did for my 353 internship class…) on what I experienced during my summer, but I would narrow it down to 3 big things: 1. Anyone, at any level, can make a difference at Frito-Lay. 2. Collaboration is essential.  3. The learnings from your internship really do translate to your full-time role.

Results

Several of my project recommendations, along with other interns’ recommendations, were executed the following year and beyond. These aren’t “hypothetical” projects – interns’ creative strategies are actually implemented by the organization and really do make an impact. My supply chain background helped me tremendously during my internship, as did knowledge from all my other core classes in the business school. When developing a full marketing strategy, you utilize information from numerous functions – finance, operations, marketing, sales, and management – and teamwork with these cross-functional members is essential.  Finally, my experience as an intern led to my success as an Analyst, which is my current role. I am on the Lay’s brand, the largest food brand in the world, and when I started a year and half ago, I already had an understanding of how the business worked. My internship experience taught me how to develop a strategy and think through details of execution. In my current role, my team not only does a phenomenal job writing the strategy, but also executing the strategy flawlessly.

If you are interested in marketing and are creative, analytical, and possess strong problem solving skills, you can apply to the Frito-Lay Marketing Summer Internship via OCR. It is truly a one of a kind experience.

 

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

