Leadership Program Spotlights: Deloitte & Capital One

Leave a comment

February 13, 2014 by texasbbacareerservices

sabeehaislamYour Major?
BHP

What leadership program/programs did you participate in?
I participated in both the Capital One Summit for Developing Leaders in Washington D.C. and the Deloitte NextGen Conference in Westlake, TX.

How did you hear about it?
I heard about the Capital One Summit when I attended a mini case competition hosted by some Capital One recruiters. This case competition was geared more towards upperclassmen who were interviewing for internships, but I just wanted to attend because I thought it would be good exposure and some fun. After the case comp, I went to speak with a recruiter and asked him about any opportunities for underclassmen. That is when he told me about the Capital One Summit and how to apply. If I had not approached him, I would never have been able to attend!

I heard about the Deloitte NextGen Conference through a club I am involved in, the Asian Business Students Association. When Deloitte came to speak at an ABSA meeting, they talked about all their opportunities for students. The NextGen Conference for freshman stuck out so I kept in touch with the Deloitte recruiting team. They helped me through the rest of the process.

Why did you want to get involved with this leadership program?
I wanted to participate for a couple of reasons. First, I did not want my summer after freshman year to go to waste. I was taking Calculus 2, but I wanted to do something that would be a good learning experience while also being fun. Second, I had always respected and wanted to learn more about both of these companies. It was also a great way to network with some of the companies’ professionals. Third and most importantly, I really wanted to meet people from all across the country. At these programs, I met some of the most talented and inspiring individuals and built lasting friendships. I can go to almost any major city and have a friend take me around!

How do you see this program helping you in your future endeavors?
First, they definitely expanded my knowledge in what types of opportunities exist in these companies; I used to have rather narrow scope in what these companies did: Capital One was just a bank and Deloitte was just an accounting firm. In actuality, both companies are much larger and more diverse than that. Second, even after participating, I still do not know exactly what I want to pursue post-graduation. I do, however, know I will have help in making that decision. This summer really helped me build a strong network of knowledgeable and dedicated people who I can turn to whenever I have questions that need answering.

What advice do you have for other McCombs students interested in applying for leadership programs?
Be proactive. Some people wait for the right opportunity; others create their opportunity. What sets you apart is when you are the latter. Don’t be afraid to speak up and ask questions. You never know what you may miss.

What did you like about the leadership program you attended?
Stronger understanding of the company’s business and industry, Opportunity to meet current employees, Building a relationship with the recruiter, Meeting and working with other students attending the program.

Please expand on what you liked about the leadership program you attended:
The programs were very dynamic, challenging, collaborative, and fun. Both had an overarching project that was to be completed at the end of the program. But every day involved some different assignment or task or opportunity. All of these projects were completed in various groups, which was a great way to meet new people. Both programs incorporated an actual business presentation so it was fun to experience speaking in front of company executives. The programs, also, were NEVER “all work and no play.” In fact, both gave us plenty of time to have fun. At the Capital One Summit, we had a giant scavenger hunt over the DC area and some free nights to explore the city on our own. At the NextGen Conference, we participated in community service, went to a Rangers game (with our own box), and had a karaoke night!

Learn more about Leadership Programs on the BBA Career Services website!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

