Spring Forward Series: Interview Oopsies and Other Short Stories

Leave a comment

February 26, 2014 by Lainey

Spring Forward Series presents

Interview Oopsies: A Collection of Extremely Short Stories

This week, we have talked to four of your peer career advisers and one McCombs student who have each made a recruiting oopsie-daisy! While recruiting season may be winding down, we can all learn from each other’s mistakes.

So readers, have you ever said or done anything cringe-worthy during an interview or a networking event? Want to add to our collection of interview oopsies? Like or comment below!

The best interviews — like the best biographies — should sing the strangeness and variety of the human race. – Lynn Barber

Short Story #1. The Shaking Slip-up

“One of my clumsiest mistakes I had made during the interviewing process happened last year. I walked into the interview suite extremely excited and gung-ho to begin the interview process. As soon as he approached me, he stuck out his right hand and I clumsily and messily shot my left hand into his right leaving him confused and startled. #Awkward #StillGot2ndRoundInterview”

Short Story #2. Company Confusion

“I’d been preparing for a glorious set of four interviews in two days. The companies included Capital One, Citi Technologies, Pariveda Solutions, and Target. I was in a first-round interview with Capital One and had a question about why I wanted to intern with them. I started my answer with “I want to intern at Citi…I mean Capital One”. Whoops. #StillGot2ndRoundInterview”

Short Story #3. Straight Face Faux Pas

“I had met this recruiter at a night prior event before the day of my interview. He was the one I was most comfortable talking to. When I walked into the interview room, I was expecting to see him. Instead, it was kind of a shock to see this other guy, and to be honest, it was pretty hard to maintain a straight face at that moment.”

Short Story #4. A Brutally Honest Blunder

It is not every question that deserves an answer. – Publilius Syrus

“This one time during an interview with Goldman Sachs, I was asked this random, innocent question. It wasn’t even an interview question. They asked me “If you weren’t a Finance major, what would you choose instead?” I told them “Well, I probably would be a pre-med student so I could be come a doctor if I was smart enough, but unfortunately I’m not smart enough for that.” One awkward silence later, the recruiter looks at me and lets me know that maybe I shouldn’t say that in my next interview…It looks like you just can’t be totally yourself when you’re in an interview, even if you’re being really honest.”

Short Story #5. Memory Muddles

“It was so awkward – It’s like when you’re meeting someone for the first time and you forget what their name is! I was at a networking event, and this recruiter asked me a question. I tried to answer him and rambled on for a minute, but then I just gave up and had to be like “Sir, I’m not exactly sure what you asked.”

***

And that’s a wrap! Thank you for tuning in to this week’s post from the PCA Spring Forward Series! Stay tuned for next week’s episode: Are You a Spring Breaker?

Spring Forward Logo

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

