Student Spotlight: How She Got the Job (BP Trade Analyst)!

Leave a comment

March 14, 2014 by texasbbacareerservices

Morgan BallMorgan Ball
Major: Business Honors & Finance
Grad Year: 2014

Where will you be working?
Trade Analyst in the Graduate Development Program within BP’s Integrated Supply and Trading division

Where did you intern?
Jones Lang LaSalle and BP

How did you go about getting your internship?
I got the JLL internship through an older friend in the business school, and I interviewed with BP after receiving an e-mail about the available internship from Shelley Nix in the Business Honors Office. For BP, I had two rounds of phone interviews with behavioral questions and a technical skills analysis.

What classes were the most valuable in getting your job or during your internship?
MIS301H with Professor Konana, STA309H  with Professor Mendoza-Arriaga, and STA371H with Professor Muthuraman. These three classes taught me so much about how to properly use Excel, which allowed my skills to stand out compared to interns from other schools.

What advice would you give others as they search for an internship?
Be conscious of the types of people you meet from the companies you are considering working for. It is important to find a job where you enjoy the work you do, but you also need to enjoy the people you work with.

What skills do you think were most important for you to have in your internship?
Other than being comfortable with using Excel, it was important that I showed that I could take initiative without being prompted by my managers all the time. For example, I finished my two assigned projects early so I offered to help my boss by doing research for a project that he was working on.

How has Career Services helped you?
During my junior year, I decided that I wanted to pursue a career in Energy and my career services advisor, Greta Fenley, gave me the names of several recent McCombs grads who were working in the industry so that I could reach out to them and learn about their roles. She also told me about several upcoming events on campus that Oil & Gas companies were participating in so that I could go and network with them.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

