The Study Abroad Dilemma: Do I spend the summer exploring another country or should I focus on recruiting instead?

Leave a comment

April 22, 2014 by texasbbacareerservices

HaydenThe Study Abroad Dilemma: Do I spend the summer exploring another country or should I focus on recruiting instead? Solution: You can do both!

Hayden McMurrey
Peer Career Advisor | BBA Career Services
Business Honors | Finance

This Study Abroad dilemma surfaced for me as I approached the summer following my sophomore year. I really wanted to study abroad, but I was worried that leaving the country for a large part of the summer would hurt my chances with recruiting. I knew that I wouldn’t be able to recruit through OCR (since most of the start dates are in early June), so I began asking around with friends, family, professional contacts, etc. to see if anyone knew of any opportunities I could pursue.

I blind-emailed a couple of leads with no luck, but everyone I talked to was very helpful suggesting other alternatives. One of my many interests lies in Real Estate, so I decided to attend a seminar in which a family friend of my roommate was speaking. Before the event, I had the chance to introduce myself to the speaker and talk to him about his business. I obtained his contact information and later emailed him thanking him for his time and asking about opportunities in the real estate industry. While he did not immediately suggest any possibilities of working for his company, he had forwarded my email to a coworker in the company. A week later, I received an email from this person asking me to come in and chat about possible opportunities, and I am happy to say that I now have a paid internship starting a few days after I return from my study abroad trip!

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

