SCM Full-Time Spotlight: Johnson & Johnson

Leave a comment

June 24, 2014 by Lainey

Mike ChavezMike Chavez
Major: SCM
Graduation Year: December 2013

Where will you be working?

Johnson & Johnson’s Global Operations Leadership Development Program. The first rotation will be as a demand analyst in Raritan, NJ.

How did you go about getting your full time position? What steps did you take?

I applied on company website and found a professional mentor within the company who helped get my resume in the hands of the right people.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your offer?

All of the business classes helped build me into a strong candidate, but my SCM classes, like Total Quality Management, Logistics, & Procurement, equipped me best to negotiate the interview and case questions.

What advice would you give to others as they search for a full time opportunity?

Find a company that fits you, build a network within the company, and prove to them that you deserve the job!

Can you describe how your interview went?

My first interview for the position was over the phone. I did it in the comfort of my living room with plenty of room to roam around while I talked. Moving and gesturing helped me remain energetic throughout the hour long phone interview. The second round was held in New Brunswick, NJ. It was a two day event. The first day gave the company a chance to see if I was a social fit with other managers and employees within the company. The second involved a group case scenario to let J&J recruiters get a better idea of each candidate’s group dynamic. The day ended with a series of individual interviews (including cases) and panel sessions. It was a great experience, and the interviews went so well that I was called the very next day with an offer I was thrilled to accept!

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?

There was a heavy emphasis on ethics in the interviews, and those questions were often the hardest because they forced me to put myself into a leadership position with some extremely tough decisions to with dire consequences. I used my personal experiences and the lessons I learned as a leader in the Army to guide my thoughts, and I answered honestly despite being worried that my ideas may not have been what many companies would like to hear.

I place an immense importance on the well-being on people, especially my subordinates. I will go to great lengths to ensure that they’re needs are taken care of at all costs. Fortunately, it turned out that my answers to those tough questions were what made me stand out! Several J&J managers called me after I received my offer and told me that I was the first candidate selected to become a part of the program!

Please tell us about your internship experience.

I participated in the Brass Ring program and interned with a local startup, BeatBox Beverages. Working with a startup allowed me to get a greater understanding of the hurdles of building an entirely new business from the ground up! It also allowed me to put the things I learned in my supply chain classes to practical use, which ultimately helped to reinforce those skills.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

