MIS Full-Time Spotlight: Ernst & Young (Forensic Technology)

Leave a comment

July 1, 2014 by Lainey

Tran_Tracey Spotlight PicTracey Tran
Major: MIS
Graduation Year: December 2013

Where will you be working?

I’ll be working for EY in their Forensic Technology and Discovery Services Practice in Dallas, TX.

How did you go about getting your full time position? What steps did you take?

I interned with the same practice this past summer and took the position full-time. In order to obtain the internship I used a mixture of leveraging my network, OCR, attending the Career Expo to meet reps from the FTDS practice, and going through first and second round interviews with them.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your offer?

My position was slightly more technical so some of my database classes helped with the learning curve of the job but really it was a combination of my business classes and past internship experience that helped me the most throughout my internship to maintain my professionalism and responsibilities.

What advice would you give to others as they search for a full-time opportunity?

Be open-minded and don’t give in to any preconceptions of what you think the position might be like until you do your research and seek advice. There is something to learn and experience in everything!

Can you describe how your interview went?

The first round interview was very behavioral and more focused on my past experience and structured around their core value pillars. While the second round interviews consisted of different conversations with managers of varying ranks to see how I would fit into the FTDS organization.

Please tell us about your internship experience.

I interned with both EY in Dallas, TX and Shell Oil in Houston, TX throughout my college career. Shell Oil involved me learning a lot of what typical consulting work was like within an industry setting. I was able to meet various members of the IT organization ranging from project managers to VPs while helping prepare a solution that would actually be used by the Shell Contracts team after my time there.

My internship with EY involved working closely in a lab with my team preparing evidence data for productions and required a very flexible schedule for last-minute travel. I worked on e-Discovery investigations and was able to travel to San Diego, CA and Tampa, FL for evidence collections during my internship.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

