Alumni Spotlight: Financial Planning Analyst at Target Corporate

Leave a comment

August 19, 2014 by texasbbacareerservices

Target blog 2Name: Priyanka Subash
Major: Corporate Finance
Grad Year: May 2014
Job Title: Planning Analyst

Please tell us about your career path and how you found your way to Target.
It was during my junior year that I began recruiting for an internship for the summer. I had interviewed with a few companies in a variety of industries, but I still wasn’t feeling the connection. I knew that going into consulting or investment banking wasn’t in my cards and fortunately, with finance, you can adapt to most other industries. It was then when I attended the Diversity Dialogue Dinner hosted by McCombs Diversity Council that I met Jean Paul Lormeus from the Target headquarters. We immediately hit it off as we discussed our love for basketball, Austin, TX, and all things Target! J Soon after, I submitted my resume for the Target Finance & Accounting Development Program, went through the interviewing process, and received the offer as an intern. That summer I worked in Corporate Financial Planning (CFP).

Learn more and apply for Target intern and full-time opportunities via OCR. Deadlines: September 11 & 12, 2014.

Learn more and apply for Target Corporate intern and full-time opportunities via OCR. Deadlines: September 11 & 12, 2014.

From the work I was doing with our balance sheet team, happy hour-ing on rooftop bars on beautiful Minnesotan summer days, to competing in bocce ball tournaments (had no idea what that sport was until I got here!) with my team, I knew that my love for Target was growing even more. As cliché as it may sound, the people here at Target played a huge role in my decision-making to come back full-time.  The remaining uncertainty stemmed from the hesitation of moving so far from my family. However, my final decision came down to the fact that Texas will always be there waiting for me with open arms. It’s not going anywhere (unless we really do secede from the US) and I can always fly down to see my parents for a weekend. So, I began my life in Minnesota in the beginning of July within HQ Finance and have been enjoying it ever since. Although there is still a lot to learn within my role,  the amazing aspect about Target is that there is such a great emphasis placed on development and emotional well-being. Because of this, I am confident that I will learn everything I need to learn in due time.

What do you like about working for Target?
I used to think that I ONLY bled burnt orange, but I can now officially say that I bleed Target red, too! My experience here has been absolutely amazing so far. The amount of face time I have had with senior leaders (I met the CFO &CMO of Target!)  has been astonishing. Also, watching the amount of open cross-team collaboration that happens on a daily basis is so surprising compared to what I have seen within other companies. I also love the fact that I am working for a company that I actually support on a daily, if not weekly, basis. I can proudly walk into my Target store in Plano and say “Oh! I taste tested this Archer Farms product before it rolled out!” or “You see those bananas over there? That is the fastest selling produce that Target has to offer.”

This is a great place to highlight benefits such as professional development, training, career path options, fun social activities, great corporate headquarter amenities, etc.
The first three months are dedicated to onboarding and acclimating to the company as a new full-time team member. You also begin to take on more responsibility as you become aware of what all your job entails. As for fun activities, Target makes every effort to ensure that Target-eers are happy in many aspects of their work social life. Target organizes team outings to  Twins games, happy hours, test tasting new products, volunteer service events, and private concerts with artists debuting their cds exclusively with Target. These are just a few of the many events that Target puts on for their team members. As for great corporate headquarter amenities, there are exercises classes offered throughout the day, two cafeterias with an awesome variety of food, and a building called Target Plaza Commons that basically is considered the “Target Playground.” There’s a ping pong and foosball table, a huge tv to play video games, a basketball court, bocce ball playing grounds, and other recreational activities.

What does this job entail?
My job entails working with human resources to ensure that we have received the proper approval and are staying within budget when hiring or relocating team members for the headquarters. Because this is a daily occurrence, the job entails quick thinking, decision-making and foresight.

What skills make a person successful in this position?
I believe the most important skill that a person in this position should have is good time management. With a company as huge as Target that has such a global presence and is constantly trying to innovate to keep up with competitors, it’s important to know where most of you time should be allocated. I have struggled with time management ever since I was in high school, but luckily this weakness has evolved since I left college. Now that I am in the real world, procrastinating is no longer an option for my daily ordeals. Getting my processes completed and sent to the right people is vital for the upkeep of the company and that allows me to see how much value I am really adding.  

Please share your general career advice?
Know that going into your first job you are not going to know everything. You may not have had the luxury of interning there and therefore, may not know any of the ins and outs of the company. That’s okay! Be patient! Leverage this uncertainty. Spend your time at the company getting to know people and processes, asking questions, and absorbing as much as you can. Also, ENJOY your last year of college. Spend your senior year doing the things you never got the opportunity to do. Trust me, it goes by so fast that pretty soon you’ll be walking the stage to graduate. Hook ‘em!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

