Alumni Spotlight: Lead Financial Planning Analyst at Target Corporate

Leave a comment

September 3, 2014 by texasbbacareerservices

Target blog headshotJohanna Chu, Lead Financial Planning Analyst, Target
Major:
Management
Grad Year: 2006

My name is Johanna and I graduated in 2006 with a Business Management Major. For my first job out of college, I was a store manager (Executive Team Lead) at Target in Round Rock, Texas – at the time, I thought my business management major would be perfectly aligned with this role and I could eventually pursue a career in human resource. After 18 months of working in a retail environment, I discovered how much I loved leading a team but I knew that working nights, weekends, and holidays was not something I wanted to do long-term and started seeking traditional corporate jobs, thus beginning my Finance career. My first job was at Advanced Micro Devices in Austin, Texas where I was in Sales Finance. Two years later, I got married and moved to Los Angeles, California so my husband could pursue a graduate degree while I worked in Finance at a consumer packaged goods company called Roll Global. After my husband graduated, we moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota where I started my career at Target Headquarters in their expense management department supporting the pharmacy business.

Learn more and apply for Target Corporate intern and full-time opportunities via OCR. Deadlines: September 11 & 12, 2014.

Learn more and apply for Target Corporate intern and full-time opportunities via OCR. Deadlines: September 11 & 12, 2014.

Target is a great place to work – they truly embody the culture of being fast, fun, and friendly. I am surrounded by talented individuals and my leaders are committed to my development. To give a taste of Target culture, at a weekly cadence, my team gets together for breakfast each Friday just to hang out and catch up on life and on a monthly cadence, my team goes out for happy hour, volunteers, and does fun off-sites (like baseball games, picnics, etc.). Target also has a very collaborative culture and it is completely normal to set-up “coffee” with someone you do not know just to learn about their job and gain insight from them.

I remember being uncertain about my career path and what I wanted to do with my life. If you relate to that, Target is a great company to consider since it is so large and there are a variety of roles you can explore and eventually pursue – from human resource to marketing to finance to operations to merchandising. My career advice is to always remain curious and to learn how to connect well with others. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

