Student Intern Spotlight: Technical Marketing Intern at Caterpillar

Leave a comment

October 2, 2014 by texasbbacareerservices

CATblog10132014PICTUREName: Jenny Scouller
Majors: Business Honors, Finance, Plan II
Graduation Year: May 2016
Intern title: Technical Marketing Intern

Tell us about your intern experience.

I had a fantastic time at Caterpillar. The people in the Houston office were so welcoming and I got to know the other interns really well. I was working in the Product Support segment and helped coordinate the launch of a new customer service online tool. I felt like my work was meaningful and that I was treated like a full-time employee. As interns we got to go on several field trips: a gas compression site, a retired jack up rig and numerous facility and customer visits. At the end of the summer we traveled to Peoria, Illinois, Caterpillar’s headquarters, to give our final presentations with the other technical marketing interns. I learned a lot about the oil and gas industry through these field trips and through presentations from experts in the company.

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer.

I have spent the majority of my life in Austin and had actually only been to Houston a few times before starting this internship. I found Houston to be a lot of fun and liked living in a big city. I enjoyed the variety of restaurants that Houston offered and loved wandering around the beautiful parks scattered around the city.

How did you go about getting your internship?

Learn more and apply for Caterpillar Marketing internships via OCR. Deadline: October 14, 2014.

Learn more and apply for Caterpillar Marketing internships via OCR. Deadline: October 14, 2014.

I met the Caterpillar Oil & Gas recruiters at the Spring Career Fair last year. After talking to them about the program I did the resume drop on OCR and applied on the Caterpillar website. I was contacted for an on-campus interview soon after. Upon receiving an interview invitation I talked with my career advisor, Greta Fenley, who put me in contact with someone who had the internship previously. Through him I was able to learn more about the program and better prepare myself for the interview.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?

I would encourage sophomores to do their research on which companies hire second-years. You will spend a lot of precious time at career fair talking to companies that only hire juniors, otherwise. For everyone, I encourage you to apply for a position even if you feel you are not qualified or experienced in that area. I had no prior oil and gas experience and had not taken a marketing class, yet. Keep in mind that you will learn so much on the job and through onboarding.

Can you describe how your interview went?

I had two back-to-back interviews in the Ford Career Center. The interviews were behavioral and asked similar questions. The hardest question they asked was if I had prior experience in the energy industry – which I didn’t. I was honest with them and tried to emphasize how willing and exciting I was to learn about it. I received my offer during Spring Break.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

