Sales Development Program Spotlight at Capital Group

Leave a comment

October 22, 2014 by texasbbacareerservices

Ashley Wilson photoAuthor: Ashley Wilson, Capital Group Sales Development Program

During my hectic final semester at Michigan State, I was anxious to find a position with a company that not only upholds a standard of excellent customer service, but also values the development and career progression of its associates. Fortunately, I came across Capital Group through our career website. With little background knowledge, the interview process was largely what convinced me that it was an ideal fit for what I was in search of. The interview itself felt more like a conversation than a formal meeting, and I could sense the genuine interest in my experiences from the interviewers.

My fellow associates are dressed much more casually than expected for a mutual fund company, yet sharp and professional, and always willing to assist colleagues. I always feel comfortable approaching my manager or team members with questions or issues I may have. My team meets weekly to review updates being launched by the firm, or to discuss our discoveries and accomplishments. I meet one-on-one with my manager on a monthly basis as well to review my development and discuss opportunities for advancement.

Learn more and apply for the Full-time Capital Group Sales Development Program via OCR. Deadline: October 31, 2014.

Learn more and apply for the Full-time Capital Group Sales Development Program via OCR. Deadline: October 31, 2014.

My daily activities in the CSR role consist of speaking with investors and brokers, conducting transactions, and assisting with managing their accounts. This position has allowed me to develop time management, technical learning, and customer services skills that well equip me for success in my current role as well as prepare me for a career in sales.

Within the first 6 months of joining Capital, I have already been enrolled in a training program for the next position in the Sales Development Program – Advisor Marketing Representative. This role works solely with financial advisors, and requires more in depth industry and product knowledge. As a young professional with limited experience, it is incredibly satisfying to know that my managers support my career progression by encouraging and affording me greater responsibility.

Although it may be seemingly difficult to find the right opportunity fresh out of college, there are many and I’m very fortunate to have landed mine with Capital Group. The organization truly values driven and proactive associates, and works with each of us on an individual basis to ensure that we are not only satisfied, but also impassioned by our work.

The transition into a career as an Area Sales Representative will be my next goal with Capital Group. Associates in an ASR role are expected to have a high level of business acumen, and experience a much different dynamic than previous positions. I look forward to implementing strategic and innovative thinking, as well as having the ability to solve issues more independently. I have no doubt that I will remain with this firm for many years to come, and am confident that it will continue to drive me to challenge myself.

 

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

