Finance Full-Time Spotlight: Sabre Holdings

Leave a comment

November 21, 2014 by SakshiB

IMG_3130Chris Tsai
Major: Finance
Graduation Date: May 2014

Where will you be working?

Sabre Holdings in Southlake, Texas

How did you go about getting your full time position? What steps did you take?

I initially met the recruiters at the McCombs career fair to learn more about the job. Shortly after the career fair, I applied on OCR and received an interview.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your offer?

Business Communications (BA324), Financial Analysis (377), Investment Management (FIN367)

What advice would you give to others as they search for a full time opportunity?

Take the extra time to meet with recruiters even if you do not think it will make a difference. I almost left the career fair but decided to stay to meet with this one last recruiter at Sabre Holdings. He ended up being the same person who gave me a first round interview and put me through to the second round.

Can you describe how your interview went?

We had a group case interview, technical interview, and behavioral interview. Working with groups in my McCombs classes helped me for the analysis required in the group case. It helped to review concepts from my first accounting and finance classes.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?

If you were having a retirement party, what would your friends and coworkers say about you? I was also asked various technical financial questions.

Please tell us about your internship experience.

I interned my sophomore year with a wealth management firm, Integrated Financial Planning Center, in Austin. It was very important for me to have this experience because I initially thought that this was the career path for me. I learned many characteristics of the industry and more specifically, real estate investments, but I quickly learned that this career was not the career path for me. This experience led me to the next internship the following summer at Market Maker Real Estate & Investments in Austin. The real estate internship provided me with great experience that was relevant for other financial services.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

