HEB Finance Intern Experience

Leave a comment

February 16, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

CameronHEBblogs2Cameron Knox, Finance Major, Class of 2013, Finance Intern

Tell us about your intern experience.

The internship was 10 weeks and I was kept busy the entire time! My main focus was learning the Finance side of HEB, including forecasting, budgeting, and analytics, but I was also given the chance to see how HEB really operated as a company. I was introduced to many different departments, toured through our warehouses, and walked through many of our different styles of retail stores.  The Finance team really focused on giving me a complete internship that taught me not only the Finance side, but introduced me to HEB as a whole.

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer.

The internship was in San Antonio, at their downtown HQ campus. Like most intrepid Austin students, I was able to experience many of the perks that San Antonio has to offer. They have several great parks, amusement parks, the always fun river walk, and even some historical landmarks like the Alamo. San Antonio is a little different flavor than Austin, but it is an entertaining city!  The key to enjoying living in SA was to meet up with my other fellow interns to experience the new city together.

How did you go about getting your internship?

Learn more and apply for the I-Internship-Planning & Analysis/Finance (RC) via OCR. Deadline: March 6, 2015.

Learn more and apply for the I-Internship-Planning & Analysis/Finance (RC) via OCR. Deadline: March 6, 2015.

UT offers many resources for business majors, but the one I utilized the most for HEB was the Career Fair. With the start of my Sophomore year, I made the effort to go to every one of McComb’s career fairs that they hold at the beginning of the semester. HEB had booths there during my Sophomore year and I was able to become acquainted with their Partners and HEB as a whole before officially being able to apply in my Junior year. After establishing the relationship in the previous year, I periodically kept up with the recruiter for HEB until I was able to apply. Once I was a Junior, I was officially able to apply and the rest is history!

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?

USE YOUR RESOURCES! McComb’s offers many different seminars, training sessions, career fairs, etc to those that are willing to make the effort. Simply taking the time to invest in yourself by utilizing these resources pays massive dividends down the roads. In my case, simply establishing a relationship with a recruiter I met at the career fair got me in the door for the internship!

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

