Accounting Alumni Internship Experience: ConocoPhillips

Leave a comment

March 25, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

KhurramKabiruddinMarch2015Khurram Kabiruddin
Major: Accounting
Grad Year: May 2013

How did you go about getting your internship? 

I began looking for my internship long before I got to junior year. I met professionals from ConocoPhillips in a program sponsored by BBA Career Services called Target Your Future (TYF). TYF provided me with an opportunity to connect with recruiters and learn more about the energy industry. Making the connection early in my undergraduate career enabled me to build rapport and stand out among my peers. Additionally, I did my research! This is an important component of the recruiting process that I suggest all students engage in. Understanding industry trends and current events will help distinguish you as a candidate and display your genuine interest.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your job or doing your internship?

I believe BA 324 (Business Communication and Writing) was valuable both during the recruiting process and on the internship. Effective communication, both verbal and written, is essential in the business world. ConocoPhillips tested my communication skills as I had to give a formal presentation to directors and managers at the end of my internship. The other classes that helped me during the recruiting process were the introductory accounting courses, ACC 311 & 312 (Financial & Managerial Accounting). Having a general framework of accounting that I could speak to helped put things into context when speaking with professionals from the company.

What advice would you give others at McCombs?

Begin early and to take advantage of the opportunities presented! The business school and BBA Career Services does a great job in exposing first and second-year students to recruiting and interviewing. Take advantage of the opportunities and begin to develop your network. This will pay dividends when you are looking for an internship or full-time opportunity as you will have already overcome the challenge of meeting the employer. Also, remember the adage that practice makes perfect. Participating in mock interviews and attending meet-and-greet socials will enable you to become more natural at networking and make the recruiting process less daunting.

How has Career Services helped you?

BBA Career Services does a lot of great work and has numerous events and programs throughout the semester for students. The most beneficial service BBA Career Services provided me was Target Your Future (TYF), an eight week program designed to expose students to employers and gain essential business skills. TYF was one of my first experiences in the business school and it set me on a path to success. I met many employers and began to learn about the different industries they worked in. Additionally, as a participant, I had the opportunity to visit the offices of various employers and immerse myself in the business. Target Your Future is a phenomenal program and I highly recommend it to any business student.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

