Finance Major Internship Spotlight: Credit Suisse – New York City

Leave a comment

March 25, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices


Kevwe pictureKevwe Mowarin
Major: 
Finance
Minor: Accounting

Where did you intern?

Credit Suisse – New York City

How did you go about getting your internship?

Networking! I knew I wanted to get into investment banking so I got in touch with as many UT alumni as I could and tried to connect with them. The Longhorns at Credit Suisse did so much to help me throughout the recruitment process.

What classes were the most valuable in getting your internship or doing your job?

Definitely financial accounting! In class you learn that accounting is the foundation of business, but I didn’t realize how true that was until I started in banking. Understanding the basics of how finance works helps so much in evaluating different areas of businesses.

What advice would you give others as they search for an internship?

Do not be afraid to ask for help. You will never be able to know all the options that are available unless you get insight from other people. Some fantastic resources are the BBA Career Services, upperclassmen, and McCombs alumni.

What skills do you think were most important for you to have in your internship?

The ability to work well under pressure was incredibly important. Investment banking is an industry known for being fast-paced and having very short deadlines. In order to be successful, it was imperative that I learned to prioritize tasks and be efficient with my use of time.

How has Career Services helped you?

The McCombs BBA Career Services has helped me in more ways than I could even begin to describe. When I began the internship recruiting process, Career Services was incredibly helpful by providing things like mock interviews, resume reviews, and connections with alumni working in the investment banking industry. By the time I started my internship, I felt more prepared than a lot of the other interns because of the strong support and backing that I had with BBA Career Services. I know that without this support, I would not have had as good of an experience as I did during my summer internship.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

