BBA Finance Alumni Experience: Northern Trust Rotational Development Program-Credit Track

Leave a comment

August 24, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

NorthernTrustblogpicCasey Ip_PhotoCasey Ip, UT McCombs BBA Alum 2015
Major: Finance, Minor: Art History; Northern Trust Employee, Rotational Development Program – Credit Track

How did you find your way to Northern Trust?

My time at Northern began as part of an assignment with BA 324 during my sophomore year. One of our assignments required us to apply for an internship that we were interested in within our major through OCR. I had not heard of Northern Trust yet at the time, but after reading the job posting, I figured that it wouldn’t hurt to apply. My choice eventually evolved into a fantastic two-summer internship experience in Chicago, followed by a full-time offer for the company’s Rotational Development Program.

What was your experience at UT Austin like?

Definitely some of the best four years of my life! I was extremely blessed to have made some amazing friends inside and outside of McCombs, especially through my involvement in Delta Sigma Pi. UT does a great job giving you a unique college experience in an amazing city. I loved the fact that it is a large public school – I felt like I had the world at my hands and could meet so many like-minded and driven people.

What is it like interning and working outside of Texas?

Learn more and apply for Northern Trust's opportunities via OCR. Deadlines: September 10, 2015.

Learn more and apply for Northern Trust’s opportunities via OCR. Deadlines: September 10, 2015.

Born and raised in Houston, I had zero experience living outside of Texas outside of traveling. I had originally gone into my first internship in Chicago the summer after my sophomore year with absolutely no idea what it would be like. I found myself growing both professionally and personally, and living alone in a large city definitely pushed me outside of my comfort zone. It was through my experiences living outside of Texas that I realized that the best way to grow as a person is to honestly push yourself to new limits and new horizons. You learn to adjust and adapt in ways that you hadn’t thought to before and also learn to appreciate your hometown and family so much more. I highly encourage any McCombs student to intern, if not work, outside of Texas—these few years of our early twenties are the best time to explore!

What do you enjoy most from working with Northern Trust?

Northern is a company that is distinctly known for its culture. The company does a great job serving as a family for its employees. You are able to easily find yourself a strong support system, completely devoted to your advancement in your career and aspirations, while also surrounding yourself with intelligent and driven individuals. I find that these qualities can be often difficult to find, especially in the financial industry, but Northern has truly invested in my needs and career goals. Through my two summers interning with Northern, I have seen how the company’s successes in the financial industry become your personal successes, and vice versa, and I am excited to move forward to pave a successful career path through the Rotational Development Program!

What are some skills that make someone successful in the company, or last pieces of advice?

Ask questions! Never be afraid to express yourself and your curiosity. Having a thirst for knowledge will advance you in so many different ways. Through my experiences, I have learned how to better voice myself and my thoughts while also challenging myself to think harder and more effectively… and it all began with simply asking questions. We already have a fantastic foundation from our education at McCombs, so now it’s time to put it to use as we enter the business world!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

