UT Alumni Experience: Logistics Account Executive, Total Quality Logistics

Leave a comment

August 25, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

TQLblogpicbrittney1Brittney Hestand, UT Austin Alumni

Major: Supply Chain Management

Grad Year: May 2014

Participated in: Women in Business Association (WBA) and Supply Chain Management Student Organization (SCMSO)

Total Quality Logistics is one of the largest freight brokerage firms in the nation; it will have 34 offices in 19 states by the end of August, 2015. TQL connects customers needing to move truckload freight shipments with carriers having capacity to move them.

Learn more and apply for TQL's Full-Time Sales Representative opportunity via OCR. Deadline: November 1.

Learn more and apply for TQL’s Full-Time Sales Representative opportunity via OCR. Deadline: November 1.

Opportunities: Learn more about becoming a TQL SalesRepresentative in Austin, somewhere else in Texas or across the country by visiting www.tqljobs.com.

I graduated with honors from the McCombs School of Business at the University of Texas at Austin in the summer of 2014. I earned a BBA in supply chain management with a minor in management of computer information systems. I started college thinking about being an accountant, but thankfully realized the supply chain field would be a better fit. I was a member of the Women in Business Association and the Supply Chain Management Student Organization. We met with multiple companies to see how crucial supply chains are to each business. I also enrolled in a supply chain internship course offered by UT; I led a team to resolve an issue with the UT co-op’s supply chain inefficiencies. During my last two years at UT, I knew that I had to make a decision that would affect the rest of my life. Choosing a career path was nerve wracking and time consuming. I wanted my first job out of college to give me pride, room to grow and endless opportunities. I applied for positions closely related to my major and minor ranging from distribution center leaders to computer programmers. I distinctly remember visiting a Target distribution center more than seven football fields long. I thought I wanted the job because of the salary and company name, but knew it would have been miserable physically, emotionally and spiritually.

I found out about TQL from a career fair on campus and knew TQL was going to be one of the nine companies at a career dinner I attended. I was extremely nervous during my application process because I had not applied for sales jobs. However, I waited tables for five years towards the end of high school and all through college. I enjoyed working with people and thrived in the restaurant sales competitions our managers ran. Each restaurant would rank its employees based on factors like sales, attitude, team work and effort; sales always had the most weight. During my interview with TQL, one thing that excited me was the fact everyone’s numbers are displayed across the company every day. I could see exactly where I stood in relation to other employees, which hit close to home. The culture was the icing on top of the cake. Walking through a huge, empty, depressing distribution center compared to TQL’s office in Austin was like night and day.

I have been at TQL a little less than a year and am part of a team with whom I am proud to be associated. TQL gave me the opportunity to earn success based on my own personal effort. I can come into the office knowing if I work hard and keep grinding, I will see results. This is a great place to test skills in negotiation, time management, customer service and sales. There is a Women in Logistics organization that helps me build relationships with other women in the industry, as well as participate in charity events and attend motivational seminars. The opportunities for growth and expansion are outstanding; TQL rewards those who put in the time and effort to make themselves successful.

To reach success at TQL, a person must have a constant desire to improve. Successful logistics account executives manage time well, pay close attention to detail and maintain a sense of urgency to handle any situation. It is easy to find a comfortable spot and be complacent; it is difficult to go out of your comfort zone and keep breaking new records. My advice to anyone considering a job at TQL would be to decide if you are the type of person who constantly seeks progression, enjoys working with people, enjoys participating in charity events, values the importance of teamwork and seeks the opportunity to lead others. If so, TQL may be a good fit.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

