BBA Marketing Student Experience: Altria Group Distribution Company Brand Management Internship

Leave a comment

September 1, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

altria blog2Cecilia Macarena Villarreal
Major: Marketing with a minor in MIS
Graduation date: Spring 2016

I Interned with Altria at their headquarters offices in Richmond, Virginia where I worked for the Brand Management Department.

I first met with Altria recruiters at the BBA Corporate Mock Interviews event held at McCombs, this informal interview made me curious about the company, and I decided to do more research about it. I met with them later at the Undergraduate Career Expo and was able to ask more questions about the culture and values of the company. I was interviewed for both a sales and a brand management Internship, and after deciding that I was more interested in brand management, I had my third and final interview in Richmond.

Learn more and apply for Altria’s Consulting & Sales job/internship opportunities via OCR. Deadlines: September 14, 2015.

Learn more and apply for Altria’s Brand Management internship via OCR. Deadline: October 16, 2015.

In my first two rounds of interviews I was asked more behavioral questions. In the last and third interview I had a panel interview with five people that asked me around 15 questions that were both behavioral and case study. I think that the hardest question that I had was a case study. I had to give them a strategy that I would take to defend share and then they asked me “What if this happens and your plan doesn’t work? What would you do to solve it?”

Before starting my internship in the summer I went to Germany in a study abroad program, the classes I took there were all marketing and data analysis related. The Brand management and marketing research methods classes that I took at WHU-School of Management came in handy when working in my Intern projects. It taught me to find a balance between the creative and analytical side of marketing.

Overall I had an amazing internship experience. There were a lot of changes like moving to a completely different place. This experience challenged me and motivated me to work harder everyday. I was given a creative and an analytical project that a full time employer would get, and it felt great that the company gave me such a great responsibility and valued my ideas.

The advice that I give to other students looking for an internship is to go out and expose their “personal brand” … network, practice interviewing with friends and go to the career fair! Be confident of your skills and abilities, and know that there is someone looking for those skills that you have to offer.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

