BBA MIS Student Intern Experience: AT&T Future Leaders Internship Experience Program (FLITE)

Leave a comment

September 1, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

AT&Tblog2picCarina Henry, Management Information Systems, 2018, AT&T Future Leaders Internship Experience Program (FLITE)

Tell us about your intern experience.

My intern experience was awesome! I managed South Texas Trailer Asset Inventory by contacting various area managers and technicians to create an updated report on the status of power trailers in the greater Houston, San Antonio, and Austin areas. I then worked with MP Instruments to repair and retire trailers making AT&T’s fleet more reliable to reduce maintenance costs. I also updated SharePoint and assisted with administrative tasks in my down time.

Finally, I had the opportunity to participate in the TIP (The Innovation Pipeline)community where I got to help other AT&T employees expand upon their ideas to better the company as well as input some of my own ideas! I won first place in the Creative Collaborator challenge, and my team received second place in the crowd choice vote in the Campus Residence of the Future challenge.

Learn more and apply for AT&T’s Full-Time opportunities: Associate Applications Developer (TDP-Emerging Technologies), Associate Business Management (TDP-Emerging Technologies), AT&T Business Sales Leadership Development Program, and Internship: Technical Intern (TDP-Emerging Technologies) via OCR. Deadlines: October 20 & October 26.

Learn more and apply for AT&T’s Future Leaderships Intern Experience Program, Business Sales Leadership Development Program or Technology Development Program.

Unlike many of the other interns, I worked in a work center rather than at corporate headquarters. Because of this, there were usually only two or three other employees always in the office, as technicians were coming and going during the day. This allowed me to establish close connections with Paul, Bill, and Jackie who all tried to make my intern experience great by taking me out in the field, telling me funny stories, and bringing me donuts! Despite this, I still had the opportunity to network with AT&T employees across the nation who all gave me valuable insight into what the company has to offer. I think working in the work center was a great experience for my first internship, and because of it, I will be able to bring a new perspective to projects if I work in a more corporate location next summer.

Following my internship, I also got offered the position to be AT&T’s Brand Ambassador this coming year on the University of Texas at Austin’s campus. This part time job will allow me to stay involved with the company throughout the school year and spread news about AT&T recruitment events going on at my school!

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer.

My internship happened to be in Austin, but living off campus in an apartment by myself was definitely an interesting experience! Buying groceries and cooking for myself was definitely a challenge, but I learned to love it. Having a car also allowed me to really get out and explore the city. I went to as many Austin events as I could such as Trailer Food Truck Tuesday, group yoga events, and hiking excursions along the Greenbelt!

How did you go about getting your internship?

Many people say it is impossible to get a paid internship as a freshman in college, and I completely disagree with that statement. In my opinion, if you are persistent, dedicated, and involved at a young age, companies recognize and appreciate your effort to try and recruit. During the spring semester of my freshman year, I went to as many events during career week as I could. This led to a chain reaction- I met Becky Radney, University Relations Manager for AT&T, at a breakfast forum during which she explained the FLITE program to me. She encouraged me to apply and she forwarded my information on to Tonya Stewart, Associate Director of College Recruiting, who recognized my name at the career fair and gave me some tips for my application. I also networked with various AT&T employees from other events and learned a lot about the company. This process allowed me to excel at my interview and get the job!

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?

For me, BA101 or the business administration class, was very helpful. This class helped refine and clarify my resume, learn how to register for career week events, and taught me how to confidently present myself to recruiters and other professionals.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?

Be persistent. Send genuine follow up emails that show you are interested in the company and positions it is offering. Ask what you can do to set yourself apart from other candidates and when you will hear back from the company regarding the next step in the application process. And, if you do not get the position you were hoping for, thank them for the opportunity. Going through the recruiting, application, and interview process will always make you stronger, so try and view things as a learning experience rather than a loss.

Can you describe how your interview went?

My interview was actually conducted over the computer through a video recording software. This made it somewhat difficult for me, because I thrive on people to people interaction rather than speaking to a camera. Though I was nervous, I tried my best to pretend my laptop camera was a person and be as natural and genuine as possible. My responses were timed and I only got a few tries for each question, but I found it was best to answer honestly and move on, rather than trying to get a perfect take.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?

The hardest question I was asked was about a case study on how to market one of AT&T’s products given unlimited money and resources. I was only a freshman and had taken zero marketing courses in my life, so my answer was completely intuitive. I took what I had learned from various lectures across my classes and my own personal past experiences and formulated my response. In my opinion, confidence is HUGE when answering interview questions. Even if you are unsure on whether or not your opinion is the right one, if you are confident, the interviewer will be much more likely to agree with you. Confidence is key!

Please share your general career advice?

The career advice I find most influential is to follow your passion, not money. If you follow your passion, money will follow. But, if you follow money, you lose both. This advice was given to me by Tadd Pullin, the Senior Vice President of Institutional Advancement at MD Anderson Cancer Center. I think a lot of the times people are so caught up in money which blinds them from simply doing what they love. Whatever you end up doing, if you are happy, regardless of the pay, you should stick with it and see where life takes you.

Questions about AT&T FLITE program?

Ask me and check out www.att.jobs/FLITE. Accepting applications starting Sept 11th.

When will AT&T be visiting McCombs this fall?

  • September 3rd: BBA Corporate Mock Interviews, Ford Career Center Interviewing Suites, 10am-3pm
  • September 8th: 2015 HBSA Fall Company Night, Atrium-McCombs School of Business, 3:30pm-9pm
  • September 9th: McCombs Undergraduate Career Expo, UT-RecSports, 12pm-5pm
  • September 10th: BBA Women’s Council Breakfast Forum, 7:30 a.m. to 9:30 a.m.
  • September 11th: McCombs On Campus Interviews, McCombs School of Business, 8am-4pm
  • Oct 14th: BBA Sales and Marketing Lunch N Learn, 11am-1pm
  • Oct 14th: BBAWC Speaker Seminar, 2pm-3:30pm
  • Oct 20th: Alpha Kappa Psi Meeting, 6:30pm
  • Oct 21st: BBAWC Speaker Seminar, 2pm-3:30pm
  • Oct 28th: BBAWC Women in Leadership Seminar, 2pm-3:30pm
  • Oct 30th: Career Shadowing Program Trip to Dallas, 10am-3pm
  • Nov 6th: BBAWC Company Trek to Dallas, TBD
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

