BBA MIS Student Intern Experience: AT&T Future Leaders Internship Experience Program (FLITE)-IT Sales Support Intern

Leave a comment

September 15, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

chrisattblogChris Prinz
Major: MIS
Grad year: 2018
Role: Future AT&T Leaders Internship Experience (FLITE)-IT Sales Support Intern

Tell us about your intern experience.

Interning at AT&T was an amazing experience. My coworkers were incredibly supportive from day one and I felt that my work was actually making an impact in the company. Though it was challenging to jump straight from school into the workplace, the employees there made sure I had the mentorship and support I needed to succeed. I was assigned to a few projects over the summer, but most of it was analyzing sales data to present insights to the leadership team. I felt that I worked in a very collaborative environment and that my recommendations were always taken seriously. Overall, I grew both professionally and personally during this internship due to the opportunities AT&T presented to me.

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer.

Though I was born and raised a pretentious Austinite, I still loved living in Dallas for a summer. Adjusting wasn’t too difficult and it was fun exploring a new city. I was able to come home for holidays, but since there was so much to do in the DFW area, I spent most of my weekends in Dallas visiting museums, going to concerts, and hanging out with other interns.

How did you go about getting your internship?

Learn more and apply for AT&T’s Future Leaderships Intern Experience Program, Business Sales Leadership Development Program or Technology Development Program via OCR. Deadlines: October 20 & 26.

Learn more and apply for AT&T’s Future Leaderships Intern Experience Program, Business Sales Leadership Development Program or Technology Development Program via OCR. Deadlines: October 20 & 26.

I heard AT&T had internship opportunities through Future Leader Internship Experience (FLITE) for freshman and made sure to stop by their booth at the career expo. During the career expo, I told the recruiter about my prior internship experience. From that point, I went through a series of interviews and eventually got the offer.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?

MIS 304 (Intro to Programming) was helpful in getting the internship because it showed I had technical skills in programming. Though VBA is not a very popular language, I still used it almost every day during my internship to program Excel and Word macros.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?

All skills can be useful in a business environment. It sounds obvious, but after the leadership team saw that I had a film background, they had me make an application demo video for them. Even if your most unique skills aren’t business related, don’t sell them short.

Can you describe how your interview went?

The interview process was done through a video and a phone interview. The video interview was behavioral with a few case-type questions. The phone interview was just to get to know the applicant to see where they’d shine within the company.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?

None of the questions were difficult, but they all required you to think on your feet. I would say that being completely genuine is the best course of action.

Please share your general career advice?

Treat everything as a learning experience. Even though you might have the next 10 years of your life meticulously planned out, you might discover something else you’re more passionate about. If you treat everything as a learning experience and remove the mindset that something doesn’t matter because it doesn’t fit your “path”, you can really open yourself up to other possibilities and maybe even discover something about yourself. That’s the end of my cheesy spiel.

Where can I learn more and apply?

AT&T will be accepting applications starting Sept 11th.Check out www.att.jobs/FLITE to learn more or ask me.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

