Rotational Program Spotlight: Intel

Leave a comment

September 25, 2015 by texasbbacareerservices

rotationalprograms

Nalin Verma BBA'10Nalin Verma

Nalin Verma graduated from McCombs in 2010 with majors in Business Honors and Finance, and a minor in Biology. Since graduating, Nalin has been working as a Financial Analyst at Intel Corporation’s finance rotation program. He is currently managing the P&L and revenue for Intel’s wireless division.

How did you find your way to Intel Corporation?

I discovered Intel primarily through a posting on OCR. I had heard a lot about the company but never really considered that they would have much to offer non-engineering talent. I was catching up with an old friend who was working at Intel in a different field and he told me about some of the incredible innovation happening there and got me hooked. I applied through OCR and following a brief interview process ended up as a financial analyst supporting a local team out of Austin, TX developing chips for our smartphone and tablet business.

What roles have you held there?

Learn more and apply for Intel's FT-Finance Business Analyst posting in OCR. Deadline: September 27.

Learn more and apply for Intel’s FT-Finance Business Analyst posting in OCR. Deadline: September 27.

I’m currently in the middle of my third rotation at Intel. When I first joined the company I was assigned to a team that was working on Intel’s first chips for the smartphone and tablet business. I was responsible for helping to set and manage the team’s $300M annual budget. I also managed a market model to analyze market share and revenue potential for future chips in development. My next rotation was a strategic role looking at optimizing the use of chip samples used for internal testing while products were still under development. In this role I tracked execution timelines for most of our product lines including PCs (laptops & desktops), servers, and mobile devices (phones & tablets) and I developed a strategy to reduce the total number of samples by 15%. Today I am the P&L analyst for our wireless business. Here I’m responsible for figuring out what steps our marketing team should make in order to get this line of business to break even as soon as possible. I analyze our product mix, pricing, and product cost to optimize our P&L for both volume and profitability.

What do you like about working for Intel?

In the last 4 years I’ve really gained a much greater appreciation for the people at Intel. It’s extremely easy to find a group of experienced mentors eager to help you achieve your personal and career goals. The people we work with are brilliant and driven, yet extremely humble, and are always willing to step out and help you find your way. They will throw lots of responsibility on your plate and push you to do more and always look for areas of opportunity. Intel also offers a Tuition Assistance Program to help employees complete job related graduate degree programs, which is great if you’re hoping to one day get your MBA. On top of all of that, Intel truly is an innovation hub. In just the past few years I’ve seen Intel lead some of the major players in the technology industry through a transformative period of change brought about by the rise of smartphones and tablets. I’m proud to say that I’ve helped launch products that enable consumers to enjoy the experiences shaping our lives each and every day.

What skills make a person successful at Intel?

Given that basically everyone in Finance at Intel is in the rotation program, I don’t think there’s any single make or break skill that can make you be successful, and that’s what I appreciate most about the program. One year you could be supporting a marketing team working on pricing strategy for a new product, while another year you could be running valuations for a new factory. The beautiful thing is that each of these rotations requires its own set of skills that you develop so that you can add it to your swiss army knife of abilities, and you work with people that each bring their own unique collection of talents compiled over time.

I think the main skill that’s helped me find success is the ability to think critically about any sort of problem that comes my way and to figure out both what I know and what I still need to learn in order to arrive at the correct solution. McCombs did a phenomenal job developing this skill through the case based approach. I’ve learned how to collect information from all sorts of partners including other finance reps, engineers, and marketing executives and to synthesize that information into a uniform recommendation. But in and of itself, critical thinking is insufficient. I also have learned to show humility and be willing to ask for help. Rotating through various teams has taught me to better bring value from outside experiences while challenging partners who are much more knowledgeable than myself beyond their own limits to figure out how to solve the challenges deemed impossible.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

