MIS Full-Time Spotlight: General Electric

Leave a comment

October 19, 2015 by SakshiB

profile-picJessi Saldana
Major: MIS, Marketing minor
Graduation Date: Spring 2014

Where will you be working?

General Electric’s Oil & Gas subsidiary in Houston, Texas.

How did you go about getting your full time position? What steps did you take?

I met GE recruiters during the McCombs Career Expo. They shared their life stories, fantastic careers, and love of GE with me — I was hooked. I applied through their website and OCR. Before I knew it I was interviewing at HQ.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your offer?

MIS 333K was an extremely valuable learning experience. The K project gave me practical experience for job interviews – It’s a class rife with success and failure.

What advice would you give to others as they search for a full time opportunity?

Consider the current employees you are interacting with as seriously as the position. I chose General Electric because of an instant connection with recruiters. They are the driven, open-minded people I need in my life.

Can you describe how your interview went?

My initial interview was behavioral, nearly 2 hours long, and divided between 2 recruiters. The second interview was held at GE headquarters in Houston and consisted of a group case study, a one-on-one interview, and roleplay. The entire experience was overwhelmingly positive — Everyone was kind and welcoming; they really want to see you blow the interview out of the water.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?

During the case study, our team was answering tough, critical questions about our recommendation when a recruiter asked “Jessi, what would you do different if you could start over?”. All eyes (including CTO Ben Wilson’s!) were on me in a packed conference room — it was such a rapid, positive learning experience. I literally had to think on my feet.

Please tell us about your internship experience.

As a double major in studio art, I took interest in a local art fabrication company, Blue Genie Art Industries. I was hired as an assistant to the Marketing Principal but before I knew it, I was managing the company’s online portfolio. I became a liaison between department heads, developed an organization system for new projects, developed training documentation, and also handled online marketing for over 60 projects.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

