Accounting International Student Internship Spotlight: MaloneBailey

Leave a comment

October 20, 2015 by SakshiB

IMG_2012

Maria F. Pedroza Velandia
Major: Accounting and Economics
Graduation Year: May 2014

Where are you from?

Bogotá – Colombia


How did you go about getting your internship?

I met the firm’s recruiter at the undergraduate career fair; I introduced myself, and gave them a copy of my resume. Short after, they called me for an office visit. After the office visit, I followed up with thank you emails.

What classes do you think were the most valuable in getting your internship?

BA 101 and BA 324, these classes taught me how to write business correspondence and how to make a good impression in recruiters.

What advice would you give to other international students as they search for an internship?

Start your job search early. Get involved in extracurricular activities. Most importantly, do not get discouraged if a recruiter turns you down; keep your head up and carry on with your job search.

Can you describe how your interview went?

I had two interviews; one with a partner and the other with a senior manager. They were about 45 minutes long.

What were the hardest questions they asked in your interview?

What questions do you have about the firm? I went into the interview thinking I was going to be asked about things like my leadership and teamwork skills, however my interviewer wanted ME to ask all the questions. It was tricky because the questions you make reflect how much research you did on the company before the interview.

Please tell us about your internship experience (where you interned, an interesting project(s), things learned, training, opportunities to meet higher up employees, living in a new city, etc.).

Last summer, I interned at CTR Market Research in Shanghai. It was one of the coolest experiences of my life. I got to apply my analytical skills while exploring China and its culture.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

