BBA Alumni Insights: Marketing 2011 Grad

Leave a comment

April 1, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

Blogheader alumni cropfinal

brendan

Brendan Chan
Major: Marketing
Grad Year: 2011
Current Job Title: Program Manager, Customer Experience & Strategic Programs
Current Company: Google

What was the most important thing(s) you learned in BA 101 to help you get where you are today?

It’s important to remember that BA 101 introduces you to the tools used to build a foundational understanding of how to work within a business environment, but it’s up to you to figure out how to use those tools in your own way – there isn’t a formula to follow in the real world. BA 101 taught me the fundamentals of how to write a resume, give an elevator pitch, etc. But more importantly, it gave me a starting point to figure out how to do things my own way. The course empowered me to integrate the fundamentals with my own approach so I could walk into business situations in a truly genuine way. That has served me well in college and has served me well in my career so far. Organizations I’ve been lucky enough to join really value candidates who are both qualified and more importantly, authentic.

What BBA Career Services resources did you use and how did you utilize these resources to get where you are today?

I worked in the BBA Career Services office throughout my time in McCombs so I got to use a lot of the resources. The Career Advisors are really phenomenal people and I’m fortunate to have learned from several of them. The events the office hosts are also really valuable as well, so I’d encourage all McCombs students to attend some events every semester. From resume reviews to opportunities to practice networking (an activity that still makes me feel awkward to this day!), I found everything BBA Career Services offered was a valuable experience to learn from. It’s the approach of constant learning that has gotten me to where I am today.

How did you make your final choice to accept your job offer?

In the fall semester of my senior year, I was fortunate enough to get an offer from both Google and Teach For America. This was my dream scenario – the two organizations have a corporate partnership which allowed me to defer my start date with Google for 2 years to teach. I had spent so much time in college working with other college students and I became really passionate about working in education so it was an easy choice once everything fell into place.

Give us your best career advice.

In school, it’s incredibly important to find experiences that will help shape the way you think, communicate, and lead. I’ve found that the same thing applies when you’re starting to build a career – it’s a long-term investment so you need to put yourself in a position to have professional experiences that will allow you to grow in both the short- and long-term. I’ve found that the best way to do that is to follow your passions and to embrace experiences that make you feel uncomfortable.

Please state if you are open to students reaching out to you via LinkedIn for virtual mentorship.

Yes, I am open to students reaching out to me. I’d prefer direct email (brendan.chan@utexas.edu) or a message over LinkedIn (as opposed to a connection request) though.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

