Alumni Insights: MIS 2015 Grad

Leave a comment

April 15, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

Blogheader alumni cropfinal

samfal

Samantha Falcucci   
Major: MIS
Grad Year: May 2015
Current Job Title: Associate Consultant
Current Company: Microsoft

What was the most important thing(s) you learned in BA 101 to help you get where you are today?

As an internal transfer student, BA 101 was my very first exposure to McCombs, it’s resources, and it’s power in shaping your future. I utilized my learnings from class assignments and that trusty BA 101 book throughout all my recruiting “firsts” – resume building, cover letters, sending thank you’s, networking events, and how to dress business professional. Overall, the most important thing I learned was how to navigate all of McComb’s resources that helps us take control of our future and achieve success after graduation.

What BBA Career Services resources did you use and how did you utilize these resources to get where you are today?

I began internship recruiting sophomore year and I knew close to nothing about recruiting in the business school. My BA 101 professor opened my eyes to the Career Services office a lot and I used that multiple times for resume and cover letter reviews, interview prep and practice, and just general help in figuring out what it is I wanted to do after graduation. I also remember my first career fair and feeling overwhelmed – the prep events that they held really helped me prepare and be successful. Don’t be afraid to build a relationship with your BA 101 professor! It is one of the most valuable student-professor relationships you can have because it goes beyond just the academics and looks towards your professional future after graduation.

How did you make your final choice to accept your job offer?

Choose the company, not the position. I chose the company where I felt connected to the culture and it’s vision and enjoyed being surrounded by its people. If you’re working at a company that you love, other internal opportunities will come as you grow within the business. Building a long term relationship with your company is very beneficial – despite being in a generation nowadays that loves change. I was extremely lucky to have multiple offers, but in the end, I went with my heart.

Give us your best career advice.

Do more than your day-job role; yet keep your balance. Get involved in fun side projects that aren’t necessarily related to your daily work and volunteer in the community when you can. When you start working, there is always something to help with. However amidst it all, don’t forget to keep your mind, body, and soul in check and have an amazing personal life outside of the office!

I am open to students reaching out via LinkedIn for virtual mentorship.

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

