BBA Alumni Experience: VillageMD

Leave a comment

August 23, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

lerner_utvillagemdMike Lerner, Vice President, Value Based Performance at VillageMD 
Major: BBA, Management Information Systems
Grad Year: 2001

Growing up in Omaha, Nebraska, I didn’t have the benefit of being around a large UT alumni population that could influence my choice of college. Despite this, I feel very fortunate that I found my way to becoming a Longhorn. While I was at UT, I was able to fuel my interests in technology and entrepreneurship, and I was able to work and get experience solving real world problems. I was also able to develop relationships that would last a lifetime – both personally and professionally.

As I was approaching graduation, I took some time to think about what I really wanted to do. A lot of my friends wanted to do consulting, banking, or were interested in going to work for a big Fortune 100 company.  But after getting involved with the entrepreneurial community in Austin, I was more interested in joining an early stage or high-growth oriented company.  I wanted a culture that valued creativity and problem solving skills.  I wanted an opportunity to use a variety of skillsets that I developed through my work at UT.  I wanted to advance my professional development through new responsibilities and challenges.  And above all else, I wanted to feel like what I was doing was actually making a difference in people’s lives.  That was my vision, and that was the path I chose.

ApplyButton_Dark_Blue_Transparent

Learn more and apply for the Healthcare Informatics Analyst and/or Strategy and Operations Analyst positions. Deadline: September 12, 2016

I now lead a team at VillageMD that can offer that path to more college grads. VillageMD is a high-growth company helping to transform and improve healthcare by partnering with primary care providers.  We look to hire people who are passionate about this mission.  We look for people who love solving problems with a data-driven approach, and a mindset that focuses on continuous improvement.  We are a team that rewards people who are willing to take on new challenges and are focused on achieving results.  We are a place where you can really make a difference in people’s lives every single day.

If this type of work environment interests you, I encourage you to learn more about us. Our ideal candidate is smart, hard-working, humble, and passionate about making a difference in health care. Look for us at upcoming campus recruiting events, or contact Jane Price, UT campus recruiter, at jprice@villagemd.com.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

