BBA Marketing Alumni Experience: Stryker

Leave a comment

August 23, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

calli stykerCalli Conti
Major: Marketing
Grad Year: December 2014
Company: Stryker:
Current Title: University Recruiter

I had heard that Stryker was an incredible company to work for, that it was a world class leading company in the medical device industry, that the internship program exceeded all others, and that I was going to have the summer of a life time, but never could I have imagined the summer I truly had in store in 2014.

Although I had originally applied for a Marketing internship in accordance to my major in the McCombs School of Business, our internship coordinator had a different vision for me. She brought me in to interview for a Recruiting role within the Human Resources department, which was a career area that I had never considered.

After being a recruiter for 2 years now, I could not be more thankful for my recruiter’s unique talent of finding the perfect place for a Stryker intern because I have discovered an incredible passion I have for recruiting. It combines my love for performing with my love for business and marketing. Each day I get the opportunity to engage with people by treating each interview as a mini performance, where I get to stand on my soap box and sell the amazing company I work for to the future of Stryker, while simultaneously working behind the scenes on organizing candidate care and serving as a gatekeeper to find the best of the best talent.

ApplyButton_Dark_Blue_Transparent

Learn more and apply for the 2017 Summer Internship – Finance/Accounting. Deadline: November 5, 2016

But aside from the impactful projects and day-to-day work I do, my favorite thing about Stryker is the people. I’ll never forget the moment I told my manager that my biggest challenge during my internship summer was that Stryker was too fun. If you ask any employee of Stryker why their job is such a joy to go to everyday, they’ll tell you it’s the relationships you make and the fact that you are going to work every single day with your best friends who shower you in love and support. I learned how to fit into a culture that fuels off of relationships, which pushes competition, growth, and ultimate success. Whether you are talking to the new guy in the cafeteria or Andy Pierce, the President of Endoscopy, Stryker people are genuinely interested in knowing you and helping you succeed using your individual strengths and talents.

So if you are someone who wants to work in a cutting-edge, work-hard/play-hard, fast-paced, energetic, achievement-oriented, relationship-driven, and high integrity environment, I would encourage you to explore our internship opportunities across the country.  This 12-week program is designed to give you impactful projects that directly support our business and will hopefully lead to a full-time offer at Stryker!

To sum up how my experience has been at Stryker into one statement, I would say that Stryker has brought out the best ‘me’ I could be and in my opinion, that’s the best company to work for.

For more information, you can visit our careers webpage at careers.stryker.com.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

