BBA Alumni Spotlight: Chevron

Leave a comment

August 30, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

chevronErin Slemp
Major: Management Information Systems & Business Honors
Grad Year: Spring 2011
Current Position: Business Analyst, Contingent Labor Management Program Office
Employer: Chevron

Please tell us about your career path and how you found your way to Chevron.

Early on at UT, I had the opportunity to intern at the Center for Energy Economics in Houston. My research into the viability of Liquefied Natural Gas in heavy-duty trucking exposed me to the energy industry and led to an interest in working in oil and gas. That desire led me to intern after my junior year as a Business Analyst in Supply Chain Management with Chevron, where I worked on best practices for labor management and pay rates for Chevron’s contractors. This experience not only familiarized me with Chevron, but also prepared me for my current role, which involves supporting a cloud application that manages our contractors. My new role utilizes my MIS degree while allowing me to continue developing my oil and gas industry knowledge.

What do you like about working for Chevron?

Chevron offers many development opportunities to its employees through challenging roles and other activities like formal trainings, site visits, mentoring, and much more. While I am challenged daily in my role, I can always ask other business analysts if I have a question, and we’re a pretty close-knit group because Chevron sponsors frequent lunch and learns, educational, networking and volunteer events. The relationships that I’ve gained with the other analysts my age have given me a group of friends outside of work, too. Finally, of course the pay, benefits, and famous 9/80 schedule are great – the 9/80 schedule in particular lets me have a three-day weekend every other week, which has been perfect for road trips back to Austin!

What skills make a person successful in this position?

ApplyButton_Dark_Blue_Transparent

Learn more and apply for the Finance, Accounting, Business Analyst, and Land Ownership full-time and internship roles in RecruitMcCombs. Deadlines: September 8, 11 and 27, 2016.

As an intern or employee of Chevron, you will be successful if you stay open-minded. As someone more on the shy side, I did have to go out of my comfort zone to conduct presentations, lead meetings, and put myself out there. However, I am a better person for it today. In addition, you must also be open to receiving and implementing constructive feedback. No one is perfect – so when managers and others give you advice, keep in mind they are only doing it because they care about your future and success. Other important qualities include being able to quickly adapt to change, both in our industry and in specific projects, and investing in your relationships within your team and across the company.

Tell us about your experience living in a new place for the summer (if the internship is outside of Austin).

Although I attended high school in the suburbs of Houston, I really hadn’t spent much time downtown. My internship was a great opportunity to get a glimpse of the heart of the city – especially through the baseball games, volunteer events, and dinners that we had. Even now that I live downtown, I am always learning about new restaurants, museum exhibits, and more that Houston has to offer.

What advice would you give to others as they search for an internship?

Use your McCombs network. As a junior, I reached out to BBA Career Services to work with them on my interview prep. They were also able to connect me to a senior who completed the same internship the previous summer – this was a great way for me to hear about Chevron from someone who had directly experienced it.

 

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

