Marketing BBA Alumni Experience: Accenture Management Consulting Analyst

Leave a comment

September 23, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

accenture-blog1Caroline Carter
Marketing Major, Finance Minor, extra coursework in International Relations & Global Studies
Graduated May 2015
Management Consulting Analyst, Houston

Please tell us about your career path and how you found your way to Accenture.

Throughout my time at McCombs, I was excited to explore various career paths and learn about the opportunities I could pursue.  I interned at a few small companies in my hometown of Baton Rouge and in the Austin area, and I realized I did well in big places – like UT.  I then interned at Time Inc. in NYC as part of their Consumer Research & Insights group developing new strategies to engage with millennials.  While I enjoyed working at Time Inc., I was eager for more challenges. I wanted to deliver value on a regular basis, and get involved in extracurricular activities at my company. At Accenture, I am able to do just that.

What do you like about working for Accenture?

My two favorite things about Accenture are the people and the variety of work.  The people are of different backgrounds, have different interests, and think differently, but are always there to coach me and support me as I grow every day.  Our people are incredibly passionate and giving- we truly are family.  I’m able to work in a variety of functions across different industries in cool cities- and with some of the best people I know.

ApplyButton_Dark_Blue_Transparent

Learn more and apply for the Accenture Finance Development Program Analyst position via RecruitMcCombs. Deadline: October 5, 2016.

One thing is also for sure- you can never be bored working at Accenture!  There are many ways to get involved outside of client work through community events, charity events, happy hours, training and retreats.  We have amazing training facilities outside of Chicago where we get to network with employees from around the world; and because Accenture is located in over 50 countries, we have many global opportunities for employees.

What does the job entail? Go into details about the roles you have had on your projects.

I have been traveling to Denver and Minneapolis to support a large scale technology transformation at a utilities company.  In my role, I worked closely with our clients to develop change support materials, that have helped teach our client what to expect with their new and improved systems and functions.

What skills make a person successful in this position?

A successful consultant at Accenture will have strong leadership skills, be adaptable in a variety of client situations and settings, and be willing to work hard to always deliver value to our clients.

Please share any general career advice.

Try out new types of work, and ultimately continue to do what you love. Experiencing different opportunities will help guide you into a career in which you will be both successful and excited to go to work every day.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

