UT Alumni Experience in the ATX Tech Industry at Rev.com!

Leave a comment

October 6, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

rev-blog-lilliLilli McGinness, UT Austin Alumni
Major: Government
Grad Year: May 2014

The saying we’ve all heard throughout our years at the University of Texas at Austin is “What starts here changes the world.” It’s a motto that originally drew me to apply to the university in the first place in hopes that one day I could put it into practice after graduation. While in school, I quickly realized that my favorite classes were ones that challenged me to problem solve, and encouraged me to think outside the box. Knowing that these were desirable skills to potential employers, I began to hone in on Austin’s booming technology startup scene where I was fortunate enough to land a role at Rev.

You may or may not have heard of Rev before, but you’ve definitely seen us in action. We are a closed captioning and transcription services company that helps clients all over the world (including The University of Texas at Austin) make their video and audio content accessible to everyone with the goal of creating 1,000,000 work from home jobs by 2020.

My current role as an inside sales representative involves working with different colleges and universities to ensure that all of their online media content is ADA compliant and accessible. Imagine you want to experience Admiral William McRaven’s life’s lessons from his 2014 commencement address, but you have a hearing impairment, what do you do? Closed captions and transcriptions make video content, like Admiral McRaven’s speech, accessible to everyone, with or without a hearing impairment. Knowing that I’m making a positive impact on college campuses is what gets me out of bed every day, and excites me to come to work.

Rev is a company like no other I’ve come across with an incredibly unique culture. It’s an environment built on transparency, innovation, and cooperative learning. You never have to wonder what the different teams at Rev are working on because we openly talk about it every week at our company lunch meeting. Through this type of collaborative environment, I’ve learned so much, not only about sales, but also about technology overall such as different types of programming language. Each day I’m lucky enough to be surrounded by some of the best and brightest minds in the business who are willing to go out of their way to help me grow both professionally and personally.

While I’ve only been with Rev for a few months, I already feel like I’m a part of something bigger than just myself. Whether you work for Rev as an inside sales representative, a product developer, or a software engineer, you have the opportunity to lay the framework for the future of the company. That’s the beauty and excitement of Rev; there is no manual or “how to” guide for this job. You must be driven and willing to get our hands dirty, because it’s up to us to be on the forefront of what future best practices might be.

 

Leave a Reply

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

